Aa Christ Church Articles,

AA Christ Church Articles
b:
d:
Biography
Unsure if relates to Christ Church?
Land taken for State Housing - State Housing - Taita/Stokes Valley Anglican Church Board, Years: 1973 - 1975
Agency: AATE, Accession: W3322, Box: 24, Record No: 32/34/1367
Archives NZ, Wellington

Unsure if relates to Christ Church?
Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Cemetery weeds irk relative [newspaper article]
Source: Hutt News 20-01-1987, p. 3
Notes: Ill.
Language: English
Subject: Estall, Arthur
Taita Cemetery
Cemeteries
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: $70,000 needed to restore gutted Christ Church [newspaper article]
Source: Hutt News 30-01-1990, p. 3
Notes: ill
Language: English
Subject: Christ Church
Sain
Churches and Religion
Taita
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Ancestors'' fortitude marked [newspaper article] : Christ Church 150th anniversary
Author: Edwards, Simon
Source: Hutt News 2/3/2004, p. 20
Language: English
Subject: Christ Church
Churches and Religion
Taita
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Blooming as 150th looms [newspaper article]
Source: Hutt News 2/12/2003, p. 27
Language: English
Subject: Christ Church
Churches and Religion
Taita
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Buildings and objects - Category B
Imprint: 1994?
Notes: Indexes: Filing Cabinet
Summary: Christ Church, Taita; Lower Hutt Railway Station; Orr House; Vogel House; War Memorial, Boulcott Memorial; Methodist Cemetery; St. James Church Cemetery; Maori Cemetery (Urupa), Seaview.
Language: English
Subject: Register of objects
Heritage -- Historic Information Register
Historic Objects
Buildings
Houses
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Buildings of historic significance
Notes: Indexes: Filing Cabinet
Summary: Attempts is being made to safeguard the future of - Lower Hutt Railway Station; Christ Church, Taita; and 132 Kings Crescent built in 1887 by Stephen Strand for Mr Robert Orr whose grandson lives in it.
Language: English
Subject: Historic Buildings
Buildings -- Historical
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Buildings of historic significance
Imprint: 1978
Notes: Indexes: Filing Cabinet
Summary: An attempt is being made to designate the Lower Hutt Railway Station as a building of historic significance. History of the Tudoresque-style railway station and photograph of the building built 1902. Also includes information on Christ Church, Taita and the house at 132 Kings Crescent designed by Charles Petrie and built for Mr Robert Orr.
Language: English
Subject: Hutt Railway Station
Railways -- Railway Stations
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Burned church was not fully covered [newspaper article]
Source: Hutt News 28-11-1989, p. 1
Notes: [Mistaken identity: Presbyterian, Church, Taita! cf HN 05-12-1989, p.29] Restoration after arson.
Language: English
Subject: Saint Matthew''s Church
Churches and Religion
Taita
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Bus tour takes in Hutt''s historic sites
Imprint: 2/03/1999
Notes: Indexes: Filing Cabinet
Summary: A combined venture of Taita Christ Church Preservation Society and Hutt City Council visiting historic sites of the Hutt Valley, led by Warwick Johnston. History of Christ Church, Taita. Ill.
Language: English
Subject: Christ Church Preservation Society
Warwick Johnston
James Harris
Jane Mabey
Lower Hutt History
Churches -- Christ Church, Taita
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Bus tour to show heritage highlights
Imprint: 2001
Notes: Indexes: Filing Cabinet
Summary: The recent "Historic Hutt Valley" brochure and a bus trip for Heritage Month links 2 groups whose origins are intertwined: Christ Church Preservation Society and NZ Historic Places Trust. History of Christ Church, Taita and the 2 Societies. Ill.
Language: English
Subject: Christ Church Preservation Society
New Zealand Historic Places Trust
Churches -- Christ Church, Taita
Lower Hutt History

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Carefully rebuilt church rises from its ashes
Imprint: 1992
Notes: Indexes: Filing Cabinet
Summary: One of the oldest churches in New Zealand has been reconstructed by a team of experts from Works Consultance Services.
Language: English
Subject: Churches -- Christ Church, Taita
Heritage resources

Hutt City Online Database
Main Title: Christ Church
Imprint: 1979
Notes: Indexes: E4
Summary: 125 years old.
Language: English
Subject: Churches -- Christ Church, Taita
Heritage resources
-
Main Title: Christ Church
Imprint: 1979
Notes: Indexes: E4
Summary: Christ Church, Taita, celebrates 125th anniversary on 7.10.79.
Language: English
Subject: Churches -- Christ Church, Taita
Heritage resources
-
Main Title: Little Taita church is 125 years old
Imprint: 1979(?)
Notes: Indexes: Filing Cabinet
Summary: Christ Church, Taita celebrates its 125th anniversary on Sunday, October 7.
Language: English
Subject: Churches -- Christ Church, Taita
Heritage resources


Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Christ Church
Imprint: 1976
Notes: Indexes: E4
Summary: One of New Zealand''s oldest churches, opened New Year''s Day 1854. Photo taken from back of church.
Language: English
Subject: Churches -- Christ Church, Taita
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Christ Church
Imprint: c1950
Notes: 1706
Indexes: E4
Language: English
Subject: Churches -- Christ Church, Taita
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Christ Church
Imprint: c1940
Notes: 246
Indexes: E4
Language: English
Subject: Churches -- Christ Church, Taita
Heritage resources

Hutt City Council Online Database
Main Title: Christ Church
Imprint: c1940
Notes: 247
Indexes: E4
Summary: Photo taken from back of church.
Language: English
Subject: Churches -- Christ Church, Taita
Heritage resources

Hutt City Council Online Database
Main Title: Christ Church 150th Anniversary Celebrations
Imprint: 2004
Notes: Indexes: Filing Cabinet
Summary: Sesquicentennial celebrations for weekend 21-22 February 2004. ill.
Language: English
Subject: Christ Church, Taita
Churches -- Christ Church, Taita
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Christ Church is 152 [newspaper article]
Source: Hutt News 6/6/2006, p. 29
Language: English
Subject: Christ Church
Churches and Religion
Taita
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Christ Church spruced up as 150th birthday looms [newspaper article]
Source: Hutt News 3/6/2003, p. 17
Language: English
Subject: Christ Church
Churches and Religion
Taita
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Christ Church, Taita
Imprint: 19?
Notes: Indexes: E4
Summary: 2 copies, 1 unmounted: C24.
Language: English
Subject: Churches
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Christ Church, Taita
Imprint: 1930s
Notes: Indexes: E4
Summary: View of "West end" of Taita Church and Graveyard, looking east to the hills. [Framed copy used to denote"the several faiths (beliefs) of England..." in the L/St. set of local churches depicting "Te Tiriti IV"]
Language: English
Subject: Christ Church
Taita
Churches
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Christ Church Taita
Imprint: 2000
Notes: Indexes: Filing Cabinet
Summary: Latest membership form Of the Christ Church Preservation Society with history of Christ Church Taita. Ill.
Language: English
Subject: Christ Church Preservation Society
Churches -- Christ Church, Taita
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Christ Church, Taita: Baptismal Font (1)
Imprint: 1996
Notes: 1958
Indexes: E4
Summary: Christ Church Taita was opened 1 January 1854. After a fire in 1989, it was restored and rededicated in 1991. The original hand-carved font has been painted black to hide the fire-damage. It is at the back of the church on the south side .
Language: English
Subject: Christ Church, Taita
Churches
Heritage resources

More record similar as above

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Church now in sportlight (sic) [newspaper article]
Source: Evening Post 27-11-2000, p. 15
Notes: Vertical File Record Number 10074
Language: English
Subject: Christ Church
Churches and Religion
Taita
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Church rebuilding appeal launched [newspaper article]
Source: Hutt News 20-11-1990, p. 2
Notes: $50,000 appeal.
Language: English
Subject: Christ Church
Christ Church Preservation Society
Churches and Religion
Taita
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Church restored to just how our settlers built it
Imprint: 1991
Notes: Indexes: Filing Cabinet
Summary: Restored church is likely to see more regular use in the future.
Language: English
Subject: Churches -- Christ Church, Taita
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Church to celebrate 150 years of prayer [newspaper article]
Source: Dominion Post 2/1/2004, p. A2
Language: English
Subject: Christ Church
Churches and Religion
Taita
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Church''s fate secure
Imprint: 2001
Notes: Indexes: Filing Cabinet
Summary: History of Christ Church, Taita - Wellington''s oldest church. Ill.
Language: English
Subject: Christ Church, Taita
Churches -- Christ Church, Taita
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Church''s fate secure [newspaper article]
Source: Evening Post 15-06-2001, p. 33
Notes: Vertical File Record Number 11493
Language: English
Subject: Christ Church
Churches and Religion
Taita
Heritage resources

Hutt City Council Online Database
Main Title: Dressed up for Victorian service [newspaper article]
Author: Kopp, Michael
Source: Hutt News 11/9/2007, p. 17
Notes: New organ for historic church. Col. Ill.
Language: English
Subject: Christ Church
Christ Church Preservation Society
Churches and Religion
Music
Concerts
Taita
Heritage resources
-
Main Title: Organ swap, repair hits the right note; Sounding out organ [newspaper article]
Author: Edwards, Simon
Source: Hutt News 31-07-2007, p. 39
Notes: New historic organ for Christ Church. ill.
Language: English
Subject: Newton, Rob
Henson, Janice
Christ Church
Christ Church Preservation Society
Churches and Religion
Taita
Heritage resources



Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: [Letters of Margaret Herring about the Hutt]
Imprint: 1861+
Notes: Indexes: Filing Cabinet
Summary: Letters of Margaret Herring (nee Eaton) 1861-1865 re immigration and life in the Hutt Valley (esp. p13 f.). Her husband, John was a clergyman in the Hutt with Christ Church , Taita in the 1860s. 2 copies.
Language: English
Subject: Herring, John Edward
Herring, Margaret
Christ Church, Taita
Biographies
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Little church touched many lives
Imprint: 2004
Notes: Indexes: Filing Cabinet
Summary: A new book by Miles Erwin " Guardian of the Valley" tells the story of Christ Church, Taita''s 150 years, an anniversary recently celebrated. Col. ill.
Language: English
Subject: Christ Church, Taita
Churches -- Christ Church, Taita
Heritage resources
-
Main Title: Little church touched many lives [newspaper article]
Source: Hutt News 3/2/2004, p. 2
Language: English
Subject: Christ Church
Churches and Religion
Taita
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Little gem that''s a cultural legend
Imprint: 2000
Notes: Indexes: Filing Cabinet
Summary: History of Christ Church, Taita which has a Category one Historic Place classification.
Language: English
Subject: Christ Church, Taita
Churches -- Christ Church, Taita
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Little old church in the valley
Imprint: 1985
Notes: Indexes: Filing Cabinet
Summary: History of Christ Church, Taita.
Language: English
Subject: Christ Church, Taita
Taita
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: New parish instituted: growth of Taita
Imprint: 2-May-50
Notes: Indexes: Filing Cabinet
Summary: Taita has become an Anglican parish with the historic Christ Church as its parish church. Account of the Institution service in late April 1950.
Language: English
Subject: Taita
Christ Church, Taita
Churches -- Christ Church, Taita
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: [Photos of Christ Church, Taita]
Imprint: 1999
Notes: Indexes: Filing Cabinet
Summary: Envelope of 3 colour photos of Christ Church, Taita taken by Margaret Caverhill on the day of Warwick Johnston''s Guided tour of the Hutt (#8593): (a) Interior looking towards the Sanctuary; (b) Interior looking towards baptismal font and entrance porch; (c) View through Entrance Porch to graveyard.
Language: English
Subject: Christ Church, Taita
Churches -- Christ Church, Taita
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Prayers from the past
Imprint: 2004
Notes: Indexes: Filing Cabinet
Summary: Janet Doyle holds a Prayer book dating from 1857 found in a chest in the Vestry during a recent clean-up of Christ Church. It had survived the 1989 fire. It will be on display by the Preservation Society there during Heritage Month. Col. ill.
Language: English
Subject: Christ Church, Taita
Churches -- Christ Church, Taita
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Progress made in preservation of historic church
Imprint: 15-Apr-53
Notes: Indexes: Filing Cabinet
Language: English
Subject: Churches -- Christ Church, Taita
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Proposed removal of historic old Church: Taita landmark may disappear
Imprint: 6-Dec-50
Notes: Indexes: Filing Cabinet
Summary: Proposal to shift the Christ Churxch to Stokes Valley to be presented at a public meeting. Local church history outlined. Ill.
Language: English
Subject: Christ Church, Taita
Churches -- Christ Church, Taita
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Public interest revived in old church
Imprint: 15-Apr-53
Notes: Indexes: Filing Cabinet
Language: English
Subject: Churches -- Christ Church, Taita
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: A recent ecumenical event
Imprint: 2004
Notes: Indexes: Filing Cabinet
Summary: An ecumenical occasion: Roman Catholic Latin Vespers and Mass in historic Christ Church, Taita on 13 January 2004. Dom. Daniel Augustine Oppenheimer CRNJ was Celebrant. Ill.
Language: English
Subject: Christ Church, Taita
Canons Regular of the New Jerusalem
Churches -- Christ Church, Taita
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Restoration after fire
Imprint: 1992
Notes: Indexes: Filing Cabinet
Summary: Information on restoration of church after the fire of December 1989. The original designer was probably Octavius Bousfield in 1853, but plans no longer exist. (cf Trends, v.4, no.2, July 1992, p.92)
Language: English
Subject: Churches -- Christ Church, Taita
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Restoration was second effort to save church
Imprint: 1991
Notes: Indexes: Filing Cabinet
Summary: George Hooper tells of an earlier attempt in 1951 to shift Christ Church Taita to Stokes Valley.
Language: English
Subject: Churches -- Christ Church, Taita
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Rock of ages... [newspaper article]
Source: Hutt News 5/12/2000, p. 1
Notes: Vertical File Record Number 10229
Language: English
Subject: Christ Church
Churches and Religion
Taita
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Settlers graves restored [newspaper article]
Source: Hutt News 15-06-2004, p. 38
Language: English
Subject: Christ Church
Churches and Religion
Taita
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Settlers'' spirit lives on
Imprint: 1991
Notes: Indexes: Filing Cabinet
Summary: The rededication of the church was held on October 6, restored after the arson attack in 1989.
Language: English
Subject: Churches -- Christ Church, Taita
Heritage resources

Hutt City Library Online Database
Main Title: Something worth preserving
Imprint: 1992
Notes: Indexes: Filing Cabinet
Summary: The restoration of the church and its history.
Language: English
Subject: Churches -- Christ Church, Taita
Heritage resources

page 5
...

For many years after Christ Church was built, Methodist and Presebyterian members of the Taita community were buried in the churchyard beside their Anglican neighbours. A question was asked at a Vestry meeting in 1886 about ''non-members of the Church being interred in "Christ Church" cemetery at the Taita, there being a public cemetery there but not used''.

Investigations revealed that although an area for a public cemetery had been set aside as early as 1857 (sic),trustees had not been appointed. (13)

By 1891 the necessary steps had been taken to remedy this oversight and after the public cemetery was opened at Taita, burials in the Christ Church churchyard were restricted to Anglicans.

...
-
Notes and References page 12

...
(13) Vestry Minutes 1886, 1888
...
from ''Christ Church, Taita and the Christ Church Preservation Society. An outline of the their history. Written by Marion Knight in 1999.''

page 5
...
CHRIST CHURCH IN ST JAMES''S PARISH
Some week after the 1855 earthquake, at a meeting of church members held on 15 February at St. James, River Hutt, the first Church Committee was elected: it included Messrs Buckridge and Welch as representatives of Christ Church, Taita. Church members, in 1859, successfully petitioned the Diocesan Synod to form the Lower Hutt and Taita districts into an ecclesiastical parish. In their petition they undertook to meet certain obligations, including meeting expenses of a resident clergyman and the cost of maintaining the two churches. They found these obligations difficult to meet during the 1860''s and 1870''s, when shortage of money was a recurring problem.

At a time when travel was by horse or on foot, the size of the parish (from Petone to Taita (sic - see note below)) made it difficult for one man to minister both churches. Ill health forced the Rev T. B. Hutton to retire in March 1858 and the parish was without a resident clergyman until 1861.
The Bishop requested Mr Barton, a lay reader, to conduct services at Christ Church. Services at St James''s were conducted by visiting clergy only occasionally and the building, neglected during this period, deteriorated and later needed costly repairs.

Page 6
Entries in vestry minutes suggest that relations between the two congregations were not always amicable. The Vestry recorded its displeasure when Christ Church''s contributions were in arrears or the churchyard needed attention. In September 1871 a meeting was held at Christ Church to "consider the advisability of constituting Taita into a separate parish with Christ Church managing its own affairs" but decided "the time had not yet arrived for such an arrangement." The next proposal to exclude Christ Church from the parish was made in 1885, when it was suggested Taita should be included in the parish of Upper Hutt (sic - see note below). Again no action was taken. Christ Church remained within St James''s parish until 1950 when boundaries changed and Taita Parish was established. (14)

Events that led to the creation of the new parish were to threaten the continued existence of Christ Church on its original site. State housing replaced farms during the period 1944-47 and the extension of the railway from Waterloo to Taita, completed in 1947, cut the Church off from the large new residential area. In 1945, however, attention was focused on celebrating Christ Church''s centenary.

-
Notes and References

(14) Vestry Minutes 1871, 1885
from ''Christ Church, Taita and the Christ Church Preservation Society. An outline of the their history. Written by Marion Knight in 1999.''
-
Ed Note
It seems more likely that Upper Hutt was included in the Parish so I think the Parish covered Petone to Wairarapa as stated in the Wellington Independent 25 October 1859. I am unsure when Upper Hutt became a separate parish it could have been in 1863 as I have not heard of Rev. A. Knell being at Christ Church or St James


New Zealand Spectator and Cook''s Strait Guardian 5 February 1853
To Builders and Carpenters.
PROPOSED CHURCH, TAITAI (sic), RIVER HUTT.
TENDERS are required for the erection of this Church. The Drawings and Specifications may be seen at the house of O. L. W. Bonsfield, Esq., Sydney Street, Wellington, before 10 o''clock, a.m., from the 7th to the 12th inst., and from the 14th to the 19th inst., at the residence of the Rev. T. B. Hutton, River Hutt.
Sealed Tenders are to be sent in, addressed to the Rev. T. B. Hutton, marked "Tenders for Church at the Tatai (sic)," on or before the first day of March next.
The Committee do not bind themselves to accept the lowest tender.
Wellington, February 5, 1853.

Wellington Independent 25 October 1854
Thursday last, the 19th inst., was observed throughout this Province as a Public day of solemn fast, humiliation and prayer. Divine Service was held at all places of worship in the Province, and "Prayers and supplications to the Divine Majesty, imploring His blessing on her Majesty''s arms, and the restoration of peace," were devoutly offered up. Collections were made at the various Churches on behalf of the widows and orphans of soldiers and sailors killed in the war, of which the following are the particulars:-
CHURCH OF ENGLAND
...
St James, Hutt 11 pounds 0 2
Christchurch (sic), Taitai, 1 pound 5 7
...

Wellington Independent 20 February 1858
CHURCH OF ENGLAND MEETING AT THE HUTT.- The adjourned Annual General Meeting of Members of the Church of England was, pursuant to advertisement in the Independent, held on Monday evening last, in the schoolhouse of St James'' District, River Hutt. The Rev. T. B. Hutton occupied the chair, and in opening the proceedings, drew attention to the two principal matters which would be brought before the meeting, namely, the consideration of some means of placing the Church of England School on a more permanent basis, and the resolutions which had been passed at the Wellington Church meeting, with regard to the nomination of Archdeacon Abraham to the proposed new Bishop. The Report of the out going Church Committee, was then read by the Secretary, Mr. Mills; and on the motion of Mr Beetham, seconded by Mr. G. Swanson, was adopted by the meeting. Messrs. Beetham and Cleland were elected Curators of St James'' Church and Messrs. Barton and Welch, of Christchurch (sic) at the Taita. In reply to a question of Mr. Corbett, the Chairman stated, that no official return had yet been made of the party elected to represent the Hutt at the General Synod; that a difficulty had risen from some of the voting papers from the Hutt not having reached the Returning Officer until after the preset? day, and the question whether such papers were ?, had been referred to the Bishop. Until his decision was given, it was uncertain which of the two candidates was elected. The election ? between Mr. Ludlam and Mr. Barton. A decision, in which many members present took part, then arose relative to the establishment of the Church School. It was stated that the Committee was in treaty? with a schoolmaster from the diocesan training institution of Oxford; and it was ? resolved, on the motion of Mr. Cleland, that a list of subscribers should be made out, to enable the Committee to guarantee a sufficient salary to the master. An opinion also was generally expressed, as to the desirableness of some modification in the Provincial Education Act, so as to entitle the school to a share of the public grant. Mr. Owen, seconded by Mr. Mills, then moved resolutions which were an echo of those adopted by the Wellington meeting, expressive of regret at the resignation of Archdeacon Hadfield on account of ill health, and cordially approving of the nomination of Archdeacon Abraham for election to the diocese of Wellington, on the recommendation of the Bishop of New Zealand. After a few words in support of the resolution from Mr. Beetham, they were put and adopted by the meeting. The Chairman? having given his benediction, the meeting then broke up.



Wellington Independent 20 October 1858
DEPARTURE OF THE REV. T.B. HUTTON.
It is with feelings of mingled pleasure and regret that we publish, below, the copy of an address, presented yesterday, to the Rev; Mr.Hutton, Incumbent of the Hutt. The harmony and good will that have mutually existed between Mr. Hutton and his parishioners; must be a source of the most pleasurable satisfaction to all who in any way appreciate the advantages of the Christian Ministry; while the circumstances under which the reverend gentleman is obliged to resign the charge he has held for the last eleven years, must occasion the deepest regret to every one. The Hutt inhabitants and their minister have so well expressed the feelings of Christian sympathy existing between them, that we need add no comment of our own, further than to express our desire, that in the milder region of the North, Mr. Hutton may regain his failing health, and be enabled to act out, in some congregation there, these warm feelings of his heart, which has prompted him, heretofore, to spend and be spent in the high service to which he has been called.
The presentation of the adddress was accompanied by a purse containing 130 pounds an amount as highly creditable to the liberality of the people of the Hutt - remembering the many floods to which they have lately been subjected - as the address is to the honesty of their hearts. This exemplification of their faith by their works, must have been as welcome to Mr. Hutton as was the offering of the affectionate Phillians to the great Missionary Apostle, "not because he desired a gift, but that fruit might abound to their account," and may, we sincerely trust, prove like it, "an odour of a sweet smell, a sacifice acceptable, well pleasing to God."
THE ADDRESS.
TO THE REVEREND T BIDDULPH HUTTON, B.A.,
INCUMBENT OF THE HUTT.
The inhavitants of the Hutt, and other settlers in the Province, join the Members of your Congregation of Saint James and Christ Church at the Hutt, in desire, before you take a final leave of them, to record their estimation of your pastoral services.
Your removal from this sphere of ministerial labour woyld have occassioned us regret under any circumstances, but the protracted illness which now deprives us of your presence and services, materially increase that regret, and we beg to assure you that our sympathies are therefore peculiarly engaged on your behalf.
We cannot forget that you were the first clergyman of the Episcopal Church who came to reside in the Valley amoungst us, and establish in the Valley regular morning and evening services in lieu of the occasional ministrations on which we previously had to depend.
This work of conscreation of a new settlement, if we may be premitted so to express ourselves, necesaarily partakes of a missionary charcter, and the energy and devotedness you have brought to this work is sufficiently attested by the enlarged building of Saint James''s, and the entirle new structure of Christ Church, for which increased church accommodation we are mainly indebted to your exertions.
The elevn years which you have thus spent amongst us, as an active resident pastor, has been marked by many visitations of Providence, under which we have all, more or less, been sensible of your warm Christian sympathy.
And we are sure that the Europeans will not be the only inhaitations who will regret your departure, for your ready aid to the Native settlers has been on all occassions remarkable.
We assure you that you take with you our earnest wishes for your restoration to health, and for the welfare of Mrs. Hutton and your children, and we add our ferent hope that you may be long spared to preach to other congregations the Gospel of Christ.
R. Barton
Mrs. Barton
A. Ludlam
Captain Carlyon
Mrs. Carlyon
P. Lainge
J. Jackson
W. Fitzherbert
Mrs. Fitzherbert
J. Roy
H. Death
T. Frethy
W. Bowler
Mrs. Bowler
R. Jillet
T. Burt
R. Burt
J. Cudny
R. Buckeridge
Dr. Buck
L. Potts
T. McKay
W. Taylor
T. Gilbert
W. Knight
W. Willcock
M. Cook
D. Cook
W. Phillips
W. Craighead
J. Percy, jun.
H. Collett
W. Ridler
J. sellar
T. William
P. Cheyne
T. Mullins
H. Cleland
J. Hooper
G. Swainson
D. McKenzie
F. Bolton
W. Earp
J. Fry
T. Mills
Mrs. Mills
W. Welch, sen.
W. R. Welch
R. Mcculloch
S. Hirst
W. Dew
A. Yule
C. Denton
A. Renall
J. Raynor
W. Roe
W. Barnett
J. Cole
G. Copeland
T. Acourt
D. Riddford
Mrs. Riddiford
J. Medlyn
H. Lynch
S. Weston
D. Peck
T. Poad
H. Welch
J. Dodds
T. Wilson
W. Williams
R. McAlloy
J. White
C. White
W. Corbett
Mrs. Swainson
Mrs. Avery
W. Beetham
J. Wilkie
P. Wilkie
Joseph White
Mrs. Arrowsmith
Miss Arrowsmith
J. Russell
H. Russell
J. Percy, sen.
Mrs. Whiteman
Mrs. Leverton
Mrs. C. White
W. Hughie (sic)
D. Hughie (sic)
Rev. W. Minchin
W. Whitewood
Mrs. Keys
W. Spearing
H. Stilling
Mrs Stilling
E. Elliot
Dr. Taylor
Mrs. Taylor
N. Levin
Mrs. Levin
H. St. Hill
Mrs. St. Hill
W. Humphries
J. Manning
W. Trotter
T. Mason
R. Wyeth
-
THE RELPY.
My Dear Friends,
At a time like the present, when the true affections of the heart are brought into action, you must pardon me, if on reply to your most kind expression of regard, I lay aside the conventionalisms of common life, and speak as I truly feel. It is a cause of deep sorrow to me that it has pleased God to remove me from amongst you.
From you all I have ever exprerienced kindly aid and co-operation in carrying out any plans for the advancement of religion in this valley. We together have seen the growth of the settlement We have together passed through the trials of the earthquake and the flood in joy and in sorrow we have been united. This would have been sufficient in itself to have caused me to regard with sorrow the prospect of being removed from you; and when you think that in addition to these, there are also other easons for such a feeling, reasons which can be understoon by none so well as by the Christian Pastor, who is the different ministrations of his office becomes united to all in the most intimate relations of life, in the Baptism of your Babes, in the marriage of your young men and maidens, and in the burial of your dead; you may better imagine what my feeling must be in parting from those do dear and kind to me and mine. It was a fond hope that as I had lived, so that I might have died amongst you and have been buried under the shadow of one of these churches in which I have ministered, But God has willed it otherwise. With regards to my work amongst you - what was well done, was done by God''s help; to Him therefore be the praise, I thank you most sincerley for your kind wishes for my dear wife and
- could not see rest of the reply?

Wellington Independent 25 October 1859
DIOCESAN SYNOD
Monday, 17th October, 1859
The Synod met at one o''clock pursuant to adjournment.
The Right Reverend the President opened the proceedings with prayer.
The minutes of the last meeting were read and confirmed.
PETITION.
The PRESIDENT in accordance with the 4th statute of the first General Synod presented a petition from the Churches of Christ Church Hutt (sic) and St. James Taiti (sic), praying that the Synod would be pleased to constitute them into a separate parish.
Mr. ST. HILL moved that the petition just presented be read.
CAPTAIN SMITH seconded the motion which was agreed to.
The petition was read accordingly. In the petition it was agreed by the parties thereto, to pay the stipend of a clergyman, under certain stipulations, to keep the Insurances paid up, the parsonage in repair, and also to pay off in a period of seven years a debt of 200 pounds.
Mr. LUDLAM thought an error had been made in the petition the subject of repaying the 200 pounds had been mooted, but he did not think it had been so far agreed to as to warrant any decided promise to that effect.
The REV. A. BAKER In such a case he thought it would be more advisable to refer the petition back for amendment.
The PRESIDENT supposed the best course would have been to refer the petition to a select Committee whose duty it would be to advise the Synod as to how far and with what restrictions, the petition should be accepted; or perhaps a more preferable course would be, that if the Synod should appoint a Standing Committee, that the Committee should take action thereon, as soon as convenient; and that all future and similar petitions, should be referred to that committee to report upon.
MR. LUDLAM thought the petition should for the present be laid upon the table after the appointment of the Standing Committee, when, after such appointment had been made, that the petition could be referred thereto.
MR. CRAWFORD agreed to the suggestion of the last speaker, and moved the petition be laid on the table for the present. After a few words from Mr. Baker, who recommended the appointment of a Select Committee to receive and examine petitions, and from Mr. Stokes as to the usual mode of procedure in Legislative bodies, the motion was agreed to, and the petition was ordered to lie upon the table accordingly.
...

Wellington Independent 2 March 1860
Ecclesiastical. The Rev. W. St. Hill, for the last few years officiating, as an Episcopal clergyman in the Hutt and Porirua districts, has proceeded to the cure offered him at Napier, in the Hawke''s Bay province. Mr. St. Hill''s kindliness of

disposition rendered him welcome wherever he went, and his departure just now is much to be regretted. The town and neighbouring districts are in, a great want of clergymen. The only resident, excepting the Bishop, is the Rev. A. Stock, who

has charge of St. Peter''s in the Te Aro portion of the town. The vacancy in the Thorndon portion is temporarily supplied by the Bishop, occasionally assisted by Archdeacon Hadfield who resides at the Maori station of Otaki, five and twenty miles distant. The churches at the Hutt and Taita are not regularly

open for service, being dependent on casual supplies, and Johnsonville, where the church was recently burnt down, is still more unfortunate. It is to be hoped that the lack of clergy thus exhibited, will be remedied by the arrival amongst

us, at no distant date, of some experienced evangelical men, for whom a wider or more encouraging field no where presents itself in this colony.

Wellington Independent 26 March 1861
DIVINE WORSHIP
WILL be Solmnised at St. James Church in the Hutt, and at the Church at the Taita, on Good Friday and Easter Day. At the Hutt at 11 a.m. and 6 p.m., at the Taita at 3 p.m, of each day.
March 26, 1861

New Zealand Spectator and Cook''s Strait Guardian 12 October 1864
...
I am pleased to be able to state with regards to the Parish of St. James'' in Lower Hutt, and Christchurch (sic), Taita, that they have now a regularly appointed clergyman, that they have repaired their church fabric, and are showing signs of activity and life we expect to see flow from the settled ministrations of a residence cleryman; with the one exception (I am sorry to say) of slackness in paying the clergyman''s salary. This parish and Christchurch, Whanganui, are the only two parishes that have been behindhand in the performance of this duty. I have earnestly impressed upon the Churchwardens and Vestry the harm they do themselves and the cleryman by their want of punctuality.
...

Wellington Independent 7 January 1865
MARRIED
MUDGWAY - WHITE - On Dec 29th, 1864, at Christchurch (sic) Taita, by the Rev. J. E. Herring, Curate of the Parish, Mr Edmund Mudgway, to Mary Ann, daughter of Mr Charles White, Lower Hutt

Wellington Independent 20 July 1867
PARISHIONERS Meeting.— A general meeting of parishioners of St James''s with Christchurch (sic), was held in the schoolroom, Lower Hutt, on Wednesday evening last, for the purpose of electing office bearers for the ensuing year, and passing the churchwardens'' accounts, &c. The audited balance sheet, which showed a surplus in land for ordinary church purposes of £14 13s 4 1/2d, and for special of £1 7s 10d, was, on the motion Mr G Allen, seconded by Mr Collett, passed. Proposed by Mr White, seconded by Mr Mullins, and carried, — "That Mr Mills be re-elected parishioners'' churchwarden for St James''s." Proposed by Mr Mills, seconded by Mr White, and carried, - That Mr Welch, sen. be parishioners'' churchwarden for Christchurch (sic). The Rev J. E. Herring nominated Mr Braithwaite for St James''s and Mr Raynor for Christchurch (sic) as his church-wardens. Proposed by Mr Braithwaite, seconded by Mr Mills, and carried, — That Messrs Allen Cleland, Collett, Mullins, Ransom and White, be vestrymen." Proposed by Mr Allen, seconded by Mr Collett, and carried, — "That Messrs kelham and Ludlam be auditors." Proposed by Mr Allen, seconded by Mr Collett, and carried, "That Messrs Beetham, Fitzherbert, and Kelham be re-elected parochial nominators." Resolved, "That the Collectors of last year be re-appointed, adding Mr Wm. Cleland to the Taita district. The meeting then separated.

Evening Post 16 January 1868
MARRIED
On the 15th instant, at Christ Church, Taiti (sic), by the Rev. J. Abraham, Edward Wakefield, eldest son of the late Rawdon H. Nicholson, Esq., J.P., Stramore House, Country Down, Ireland, to Kate, second daughter of the late John Miles, Esq., of Wanganui. No cards.

Wellington Independent 21 July 1868
Church Meeting At The Hutt. A general meeting of parishioners of St. James'' and Christchurch (sic), was held in the church schoolhouse on Wednesday evening, July 15th; the Rev. J. E. Herring in the chair. The following gentlemen were elected to serve as parish officers for the ensuing year:— Messrs W. Beetham, J. Kelham, and W. Fitzherbert, as parochial nominators; Messrs J. Kelham, and A. Ludlam as auditors of parish accounts; Mr Thomas Mullins as parishioners'' churchwarden for St. James'', Lower Hutt, and Mr W. Mantell, for Christchurch (sic), Taita; Messrs G. Allen, A. Braithwaite, H. Cleland, W. A. Fitzherbert, G. Hedges, W. Mantell, W. Ransom, H. Stilling, J. G. F. Wilford, and John White, as vestrymen; Messrs Ludlam and A. Braithwaite were also elected collectors for the Waiwetu district; Mr Collett for Petoni (sic); Mr T. Mullins for the Hutt Bridge district; Mr John White for the Middle Hutt; and Messrs Hedges and Mantell for the Taita. The Rev. J. E. Herring nominated Mr Collett as clergyman''s churchwarden for St. James'', and Mr G. Hedges for Christchurch (sic). Before separating, a unanimous vote of thanks was accorded to Mr W. Welch, senr., on his retiring from office, for his valuable and long continued services as churchwarden of Christchurch (sic), Taita.

Wellington Independent 20 July 1869
The Hutt. A general meeting of the members of the Church of England was held in the Church School House, Lower Hutt, on Wednesday evening last, July 14th, the Rev. J. E. Herring in the chair. The following gentlemen were elected parochial officers for the ensuing year: Parochial Nominators ������������������� Messrs Beetham, Fitzherbert, and Kelham. Auditors of Parish Accounts — Messrs Kelham aud Ludlam. Parishioners'' Churchwarden, St James — Mr A. Braithwaite; Christchurch, Taita, Mr T. C. Williams. Vestrymen, Messrs G. Beetham, H. Collett, C. Grace, G. Hedges, T Mullins, W. Welch, J. White, H. Stilling. Collectors for the Waiwetu district, Messrs Ludlam and Braithwaite; for Petone, Mr Collett; for Lower Hutt, Mr Mullins; for Middle Hutt, Mr John White; for Taita, Messrs Leverton and G. Beetham. The Rev. J. E. Herring nominated Mr G. Allen a Clergyman''s Churchwarden for St James'', and Mr Mantell, for Christchurch (sic). Messrs Ludlam and Kelham, were also electod Synodsmen to represent the Church members of the Lower Hutt in the next Diocesan Synod.

Wellington Independent 24 March 1870
Christ Church, Taita. - The children of the Sunday School in connection with this church, collected among themselves sufficient money to purchase a few presents, to express their gratitude to their deeply respected pastor and his family. On Sunday last, after the usual afternoon service, the Superintendent of the School, Mr Rayner, on behalf of the children, offered to the Rev. J. E. Herring this simple tribute of regard, and in a few words assured him of their grief at his removal, and of their earnest wishes for the future welfare of him and his. The unpretending ceremony was joined in by the congregation with mingled feelings of pleasure and pain - pleasure at the spontaneous act of the children, and pain at their approaching loss of those to whom all have become so warmly attached.

Wellington Independent 29 March 1870
The children attending the Sunday School in connection with Christ Church, Taita, have presented some farewell gifts to the Rev. J. E. Herring, who is about to leave the district.

Wellington Independent 21 April 1870
Presentation to the Rev. Mr Herring.��������� A very large and cordial gathering of church members took place on Tuesday evening from the associated parishes of the Lower Hutt and Taita, with the object of taking leave of their respected pastor the Rev. J. E. Herring, who is about to transfer himself and family to the colony of Victoria. Tea was served in the spacious room of the Masonic Hall, after which [te]stimonial, together with a purse containing 70 subscribed by the parishioners, was presented to Mr Herring in a few eloquent and appropriate words by the Hon. W. Fitzherbert, who acted as spokesman on the occasion, expressing the warm and grateful feelings of those who have for six years enjoyed the benefit of the reverend gentleman''s zealous ministrations and friendship, and it may be truly said that their hearty desire for his future welfare is the only mitigation of their deep regret at his departure. The evening was rendered further interesting by an impromptu concert, got up in compliment to Mrs Herring, who will be much missed and regretted. Her genial and kindly nature will ever be regretted by her many friends, and particularly the interest she has always taken in contributing by her musical taste to the encouragement and cultivation of their social pleasure. On the present occasion it is gratifying to allude to some most graceful contributions to the musical display of the evening by ladies and gentlemen from the city of Wellington, who kindly volunteered their very able performances, vocally and instrumentally. A similar evidence of the general esteem and popularity in which Mr and Mrs Herring are held, was shown by the presence in the crowded assembly of members from other Christian congregations as well as many former parishioners, who had come from considerable distances to mark their respect on the occasion. Nearly all his brother clergymen from the adjoining parishes were in attendance. Mr Herring''s ability as a preacher has long been recognised, and his friends and admirers augur a bright future for him. Immediately after the presentation of the farewell address, the concert was to have taken place, but, unavoidably, it was postponed from seven o''clock until eight o''clock, during which time the Hutt Band, under the able guidance of their bandmaster, Mr Valentine, played some very choice selections, which, to judge from the hearty applause, were well received by the crowded audience. Then followed songs and duets, which were well rendered by the amateurs. Among the concerted pieces was a duet by Miss and Mr Valentine for piano and clarionet which deserves special attention. Also a violin solo by Mr Kelly, which gained a well merited reception. We may notice, in reference to the instrumental pieces that a sonata of Romberg''s for two violins, flute, and piano, was played with more than ordinary skill, considering the performers had no opportunity of having a private rehearsal, meeting as they did for the first time on the stage. The song "Jessie''s Dream" here obtained an encore which, however, was not responded to on account of the length of the programme. Altogether it was one of the most successful entertainments which have for a considerable time taken place at the Hall. The following is a copy of the address presented to Mr Herring:- To the Rev. J. E. Herring — Reverend and Dear Sir, Regarding with muoh sorrow the separation now about to take place between your parishioners and yourself, and feeling that we not only lose an able spiritual pastor but a most estimable friend, we desire to testify in this imperfect expression of our feelings the high opinion we entertain of your worth and of the personal esteem in which you have been held by us in both of these responsible relatious of life. Ministering most earnestly to our spiritual wants, an affectionate pastor, and a faithful preacher of God''s Holy Word, visiting and comforting the sick and the dying, your large-hearted benevolence has been extended to all alike without distinction of creed or calling. If has also been our pleasure to recognise in you the faithful friend and amiable participator in all our innocent pleasures and amusements. Now that we are about to part we feel that you have filled a greater space in our affections than we were aware of, and we desire that this imperfect testimony to your worth shall relieve our consciences and do you justice. And with our hearty wishes for the welfare of yourself, Mrs Herring, and family, praying that God will preserve you all in peace and righteousness, we bid you God-speed to the scene of your future labors. We beg your acceptance of the accompanying testimonial from your affectionate parishioners.- Jas. Kelham, J.P., William Fitzherbert, William Beetham, Nominators; George Allen, Arthur Braithwaite, Churchwardens; and signed by fifty-two parishioners.

Wellington Independent 15 August 1873
MARRIAGES.
CRIMP — RAYNER.— On August 9th, by the Rev Mr Fancourt, at Christ''s Christ, Taita, J. Stone Crimp, youngest son of Henry Crimp, of Christchurch, to Susannah Maria Rayner, fifth daughter of Mr John Rayner, Taita.
-
JOHNSTON — RAYNER. — At the Taita, Hutt, by the Rev Mr Fancourt, Edwin, youngest son of Mr Thomas Johnston, Kent, England, to Harriet Frances, sixth daughter of Mr John Rayner, Taita.

Wellington Independent 24 November 1873
TAITA.
A correspondent writes, under date 20th November: At the conclusion of the afternoon servioe on Sunday, the Rev Mr Fancourt, on behalf of the children attending the Sunday school, presented Mr John Rayner with a magnificently illustrated Bible, as a token of their appreciation of his services as Superintendent of the Sunday school for the last fifteen years. Inside the cover there was a scroll containing 150 names of scholars that had been in attendance, but these do not comprise all the names. Mr Fancourt, in a few appropriate remarks, pointed out the value of such self-sacrificing labors in a practical directions. Mr Beetham (Hutt) explained that the Bible had been purchased with money collected by the Sunday school children, and was entirely the result of their own little subscriptions. Mr Rayner expressed his gratitude for the valuable volume which had been given him, and which he would prize highly as coming from those whom he had endeavored to instruct in accordance with its precepts.
The departure of Mr and Mrs Williams, for Sanson, will be felt by many as a loss to the neighborhood, as both were efficient teachers, and had conducted the school for upwards of three years with great credit to themselves and satisfaction to the parents. I hope they will be equally successful at Sanson, and I confess to feeling a deep interest in the welfare of this "small farm association," and all other special settlements. In other provinces, religion and race have been found to be the best bonds for keeping little communities together. Where a minister formed the connecting link, the settlement has invariably prospered; in other cases language has kept them united, as in the case of German and Scandinavian immigrants. It remains to be seen whether a band of British settlers can work in harmony for the common weal, and become as thriving and prosperous as those possessing a common creed or speaking a foreign language.

Wellington Independent 24 February 1874
MARRIAGE.
CORNISH — WHITTTEM. �� On the 23rd instant, at Christ Church, Taita, by the Ven.

Archdeacon Stock, Charles Athelstane Cornish, eldest son of the late Rev A. A.

Cornish, vicar of Old Windsor, Berks, England, to Alice Mary Whittem, youngest

daughter of the late W. Whittem, Esq., Hendon, Middlesex. [Home papers please

copy.]

Wellington Independent 25 June 1874
CHRISTCHURCH (sic), TAITA
Tenders are required for the Making of Twenty-two Seats for the above church.
Plans and specifications to be seen at Mr T. Burt''s, Lower Hutt, where all tenders must be left on or before July 1st, 1874.
JOHN RAYNER,
Churchwarden,
June 24, 1874

Evening Post 8 May 1876
Marriage
On the 6th May, at Christ Church, Taita, Hutt, by the Rev. T. Fancourt, William H. R. Dale, jun., of Heathcote Valley, Canterbury, to Julia, youngest daughter of G. G. Bock (sic), of Unity Hall, Taita, Hutt, Wellington

Evening Post 5 May 1877
The Easter Day offertories in St. James''s, Lower Hutt, and Christ Church, Taita, amounted to £11 16s 5d, which were handed over to the curate.

Evening Post 18 July 1877
The annual general meeting of the parishioners of St. James'', Lower Hutt, and Christ Church, Taita, was held in the church school-room last night, the Curate, the Rev. T. Fancourt, being in the chair. The chairman, after opening the meeting with prayer, and the reading of the minutes, briefly reviewed the events of the past year, and referred specially to the proposed new church at the Lower Hutt. The following office-bearers were then elected : - Curate''s Churchwardens - Captain Hewitt and Mr. Welch; Parishioners'' Churchwardens - Mr. Wilkins and Mr. W. R.Welch; Vestrymen - Capt. Humfrey, Messrs. Ransom, Ashton, Beatson, Collett, Edward Collett, G. Collett, Brann, and Rayner. Collectors - Messrs. Ransom, S. Smith, Wilkins, Collett, Braithwaite, and W. R. Welch. Eleven designs for the new church were laid before the meeting, the selection therefrom being entrusted to a committee, consisting of the Curate, the Churchwardens of St. James'', Sir Wm. Fitzherbert, Messrs. Beetham, Barton, Braithwaite, Collett, Fitzherbert, and Ransom. The Treasurer and Trustees were authorised to expend, out of the building fund, the amount necessary to purchase the timber for the new church, so soon as the design is fixed upon and the quantities are known. It was also decided to hold a parish fete about Christmas time, the proceeds thereof to be devoted to the building fund.

Evening Post 21 July 1879
The annual parish meeting of St. James'' Church, Hutt, and Christ Church, Taita, for the election of parish officers and settling of accounts; having been adjourned from Tuesday last, will be held in the church school-room, at the Lower Hutt, on Tuesday (to-morrow), at half-past seven in the evening

Evening Post 21 July 1879
PARISH MEETING, LOWER HUTT
THE Annual Parish Meeting of S. James''. Hutt and Christchurch, Taita, stands adjourned from Tuesday last to Tuesday next, 22nd July, in the Church Schoolroom, Lower Hutt, at 7.30 p.m.
THOS. FANCOURT,
Curate
19th July, 1879

Evening Post 24 July 1879
The annual parish meeting of St. James'', Hutt, and Christchurch (sic), Taita, was resumed on Tuesday evening last at the church schoolroom. The Rev. T. Fancourt occupied the chair, and in his opening remarks stated that the proposed scheme for the establishment of a general church fund would not be brought into operation until after the next session of the Synod, and that therefore the parish would have to continue for the next half year under its present financial system. The churchwardens'' report and balance-sheet were read and adopted, after which the meeting proceeded to the election of office bearers. The Rev. T. Fancourt re-nominated as his churchwarden — Mr. J. H. Brann, for St James'', and Mr. Welch (senior) for Christchurch (sic); Mr. J. R Ransom was re-elected parishioners churchwarden for St. James'', and Mr. W. R. Welch for Taita. Captain Hewitt and Messrs. H. Collett, Ed. Collett, R. Cleland, W. A. Fitzherbert, H. S. Fitzherbert, R. Johnston, Jas. Wilkins, and H. W. Williams were elected vestrymen. Messrs J. H. Brann, J. R. Ransom, Jno. Wilkins, Ed. Collett, and W. R. Welch were elected collectors, and Capt. Humfrey and Mr. Wm. Jones, auditors.

Evening Post 14 July 1880
The annual general meeting of parishioners of St. James'', Hutt, and Christ Church, Taita, will be held in the Church School-room, at the Hutt, to-morrow evening at 8 o''clock

Evening Post 16 July 1880
PARISH MEETING AT THE HUTT.
The annual general meeting of the parishioners of St. James'', Hutt, and Christ Church, Taita, was held last evening in the Church Schoolroom, at the Lower Hutt, the chair being taken by the Rev. T. Fancourt. The balance-sheet for the past year showed a slight deficit and a considerable amount of unpaid liabilities, to meet which there are assets to a larger amount, consisting chiefly of arrears of seat rents and subscriptions. The report of the vestry stated that this was owing not so much to any falling off in the revenue of the parish as to the fact that extra expenses had been incurred in connection with the now church, and that the arrears were unusually large. The balance-sheet of the building fund account showed that the new church had been erected at a cost of rather more than £I4OO, and that the building was free of debt. The report of the Vestry also stated that the whole of the sittings had been taken up, and that the offertory had considerably increased since the opening of the new church. The curate appointed as his churchwardens: - St. James'' - Mr. W. A. Fitzherbert; Christ Church - Mr. Welch, sen. The following other church officers were then elected : - Parishioners'' churchwardens : - St. James'' - Mr. Ransom; Christ Church - Mr. W. R. Welch. Vestrymen - Capt. Hewitt, Messrs. R. Cleland, Ed. Collett, Williams, Wilkins, H. S. Fitzherbert, H. Collett, C. E. Barraud, and Johnston. Collectors - Messrs. Ransom, Williams, Wilkins, Ed. Collett, and W. R. Welch. Auditors - Messrs. Jones and Reynolds.

Evening Post 14 July 1881
The annual general meeting of the parishioners of St. James'', Hutt, and Christ''s Church, Taita, was held in the Church Schoolroom, at the Lower Hutt, on Tuesday evening last. The report of the vestry stated that there was an overdraft at the bank on the 30th June amounting to ��26 14s 3d. This was explained by the fact that a new Sunday-school had been built at the Hutt, and that for this purpose permission had been obtained from the bank to overdraw the parish account to the amount of £100 for a period of twelve months, terminating at the end of September next. The report also stated that the site of the old Sunday-school had been sold for £170, and a new site, adjoining that on which the church stands, purchased with the proceeds of the sale, on which the new school had been erected, and that the remainder of the property out of which this was taken had, by means of certain funds belonging to the parish and a loan of £250 at five per cent., been purchased as a future parsonage site, and conveyed to five provisional trustees until such time as the debt on it had been paid off. The residents of Petoni (sic) were congratulated on the efforts they had made to erect a church-room on the site given by Mr. G. E. Barton, it being stated that the debt that was upon the building at the time it was opened had since been all but liquidated. The report of the vestry and the balance-sheet for the past year having been received and adopted, the following office-bearers for the ensuing year were elected :- Curate''s Churchwarden, Mr. W. A. Fitzherbert; Parishioners'' Churchwarden, Mr. J. R. Ransom; Vestrymen - Messrs. G. Ashcroft, S. C. Barraud, R. Cleland, H. Collett, Ed. Collett, H. S. Fitzherbert, R. Johnston, H. W. Williams, W. Welsh, and Captain Hewitt; Auditors, Messrs. Wm. Jones and P. M. Reynolds. After the parish meeting had closed, a general meeting of electors was held for the purpose of electing two Diocesan Synodsmen. The following gentlemen were proposed and seconded:- Mr. H. S. Fitzherbert, Captain Hewitt, and Mr. W. A. Fitzherbert. The last-named gentleman having signified his wish to withdraw his name, the two former were declared elected.

Evening Post 19 April 1884
The Venerable Archdeacon Stock (as the Bishop''s commissary) will institute the new incumbent of the Hutt parish at St James''s Church, Lower Hutt, to-morrow, during the morning service. The Archdeacon will also preach at Christ Church, Taita, in the afternoon at 3 o''clock

Manawatu Standard 20 November 1884
Diocesan Synod
BISHOP HADFIELD''S ADDRESS
...
During the past year the Rev. F. T. (sic) Fancourt has resigned the charge of St. James'' parish at the Hutt, on being appointed diocesan secretary.
...
During the same period the following appointments have been made:-
...
Rev. E. S. Cross, to the parish of St. James and Christ Church, Hutt.
...

Evening Post 18 September 1886
ST. JAMES'' CHURCH
Lower Hutt.
The REV. J. STILL (Incumbent of St. Pauls''s, Wellington) will preach in the above Church TO-MORROW; also at Christ Church, Taita, at 3 p.m.

Evening Post 9 April 1887
St. James'', Lower Hutt.
Christ Church, Taita.
Church-Room, Petone.
The Offertories on Easter Day will, in accordance with a resolution of the Diocesan Synod, be handed over to the Incumbent.
C. HUMFREY,
J. R. RANSOM, Churchwardens


Evening Post 22 July 1887
ST. JAMES'' CHURCH, LOWER HUTT.
The annual meeting of the parishioners of St. James'' Church was held last night at the churchroom, Lower Hutt. The attendance was rathor meagre, no doubt owing to the election meeting held at the same hour at the Oddfellows'' Hall. The meeting was opened with prayer by the curate, the Rev J. Jones, who was in the chair. The Rev. Curate said it was the first occasion on which he had had the pleasure of presiding at an annual meeting of parishioners of the parish, and he sincerely hoped it would not be the last; but he was no stranger to similar meetings elsewhere. As a rule, they did not look for large audiences at these meetings; but it showed that the parish had fall confidence in those who did attend, and although occasional "little rumpuses" did sometimes secure a larger attendance, he thought they were better off as they were, with a small attendance and without any unpleasantnesses of the kind referred to. The report of the outgoing Vestry was read by Captain Humfrey, and was adopted as read. The following is the report:— The Vestry have much satisfaction in reporting that the disorganised state of affairs which existed at the commencement of the past financial year has so far disappeared that a slow but steady progress of improvement has for the last few months been apparent. The resignation of the Rev. E. S. Cross and his departure from the Parish occurred early in September, and the institution of the Rev. J. Jones as his successor on the 14th of November. During the interval the Church Services and ceremonies were conducted by his Lordship the Bishop, other clergymen of the diocere, and lay readers, and the Vestry desire to place on record their appreciation of the personal and practical interest the Bishop has at all times taken in matters connected with the parish, and to thank those clergymen and lay readers who so ably assisted him. The increased population at Petone has necessitated certain changes being made in the services of St. James'', as the Vestry felt that every assistance compatible with the preservation of the integrity of the parish should be afforded to that portion of the district, and a morning service is now held in the schoolroom once every alternate Sunday, and also conducted by the curate, his place at St. James'' on these occasions being filled by lay readers. A morning service every alternate month, under the curate, has also been established at Christ Church, Taita. The appointment of Miss Drew-Pearce as organist from 1st January has been made, and to that lady and Mr. Albert Collett the thanks of St. James'' Church are due for the services voluntarily rendered by them prior to that date. The finances of the past year have been so far satisfactory that the curate''s stipend has been paid when due; but the vestry desire to bring prominently to the parishioners that it was an express understanding that if the funds admitted of it the salary should be raised to 300 pounds per annum, and it trusted that during the year to come the various sources of revenue may be so increased as to permit of this being done. The painting of the churches, the enlargement of the churchroom at Petone, and St. James'' Schoolrooms are works that are urgently required to be attended to, but the present state of the finances precludes any action being taken in this direction. It has been suggested that a bazaar or some other entertainment should be held during the summer months for raising the amount required to carry out these necessary works. The expanditure during the past year has been somewhat heavy, as several necessary works had to be undertaken in connection with the parsonage, and long standing accounts of long date settled. At Christ Church, Miss Welch has, as usual, presided at the harmonium, and at Petone the same service has been rendered by Mr. Manning, jun. — J. Jones, Chairman of Vestry.
The rev. Chairman, before asking the meeting to proceed with the election of the vestry, referred in terms of praise of the manner in which the outgoing vestry had done their work, and suggested that a vote of thanks be accorded them. A resolution to that effect was moved by Mr. Ronayne, seconded by Mr. Couchman, and carried.
Captain Humfrey and Mr. J. R. Ransom were re-elected Churchwardens, unopposed. The meeting decided to elect ten Vestry men, and the following nominations were made:— Messrs. R. C. Kirk, S. C. Barraud, R. Cleland, T.Ronayne, Whitton, G. H. Welch, Collett, J. Maultair, W. A. Fitzherbert, and J. Wilkins. Messrs. W. F. Cheeseman and E. H. Scales were appointed auditors. Mr. W. A. Fitzherbert said that, owing to various causes, he was the sole remaining trustee of the Parochial Fund. He read a statement of the position of the fund, and said he was anxious to know if the churchwardens preferred to take over the fund, or elect a co-trustee to act with him. It was proposed that the parishioners'' churchwarden should be elected co-trustee. The matter was finally referred to a committee to decide what should be done in the matter. A vote of thanks to the ladies and gentlemen who had assisted with the music at Petone, St. James'' and Christ''s Church, was carried.
The necessity for increased accommodation at Petone was mentioned, but it was decided to allow it to remain in abeyance for the present.
The question of a public cemetery was referred to, and after a short discussion it was decided to leave the matter in the hands of the local bodies. The meeting then closed.
At a subsequent meeting of the vestry the following nominations were made for two Synodsmen :— Messrs. W. A. Fitzherbert and ����� Whitton. No other nominations being made, the gentlemen named were declared duly elected.

Feilding Star 4 August 1887
While the Rev. J. Jones, of the Lower Hutt, was riding to the Taita, on Sunday morning last to conduct divine service, his horse fell, and the reverend gentleman was thrown with considerable force on to the road. Though being considerably shaken and bruised, Mr Jones proceeded on his journey, and was able to take the service at the appointed time, and again in the evening at St. James Church, Lower Hutt.- NZ Times

Evening Post 31 March 1888
BAZAAR.
Under the Distinguished Patronage of Lady Jervois.
THE Bazaar, in aid of the Lower Hutt, Taita, and Petone Church Districts, will be held at St. James'' Schoolroom, Lower Hutt, on EASTER MONDAY, 2nd April, and two following days, and will be open each day from 2 to 6 p.m. and from 7 to 10 p.m.
Various attractive entertainments will be provided in connection with the Bazaar.
Admission, 1s; Children, 6d.
Contributions will be gladly received at the Parsonage, Lower Hutt, or by Mrs. Welch, Taita, and by Mrs. Comber, Petone

Evening Post 3 April 1888
A bazaar in aid of the Petone, Taita, and Lower Hutt church funds was opened yesterday in St. James'' Chnrchroom, Lower Hutt, by Miss Jervois, for whom Major Jervois officiated as spokesman. There was a very large gathering of ladies, but the sterner sex was not seen in great numbers. The stalls were loaded with a wonderful assortment of articles, useful and ornamental, and an energetic bevy of damsels lost no time in besieging the unwary to invest in their wares as soon as business was commenced, and a good sum was taken during the day. The ladies in charge of the stalls were Mesdames J. Jonas, Steenvelt, Gratton, Miller, H. Jackson, Bodman, E. J. Riddiford, Humfrey, Whitehead, W. A. Fitzherbert, Wilford, Welsh, senior, G. Welsh, Weston, Comber, Horne, and Lady Hector. Master Hector was in charge of the Fine Art Gallery. The church funds will no doubt be materially augmented before the close of the bazaar, which is in all respects creditable to those ladies and gentlemen who have been entrusted with its arrangements.

Evening Post 29 June 1889
Christ''s Church, Taita
-
In Aid of the Sunday School Building Fund.
-
A BAZAAR
Will be held in the Schoolroom on
Wednesday and Thursday, 10th
and 11th July.
-
Open at 2 p.m. and 7 p.m.
-
Admission - 6d. Children, 3d.
-
Contributions will be thankfully received by Mrs. Jones, St. James'' Parsonage, Lower Hutt; Mrs. Comber, Petone; and Mrs Welch, Taita.

Observer 13 July 1889
Round the Churches
...
A bazaar was opened on Wednesday, 10th inst., at Christ Church, Taita, Wellington, in aid of the Sunday School Building Fund.

Evening Post 5 October 1889
We are pleased to learn that the subscription list for the purchase of an organ for the Taita Episcopal Church has been successfully completed. An organ was purchased from Messrs. Hoffman and Co., and was despatched by them to the Taita this week. Mr. Hautrie West kindly undertook the selection of the instrument, and all who have heard it are loud in its praise, for sweetness of tone and compass. The subscriptions were gathered by Mrs. John Taylor, and Mrs. Rush, the organist. We congratulate the congregation upon the acquisition of such a fine organ for their church.

Evening Post 15 July 1891
PARISH MEETINGS.
ST. JAMES'', LOWER HUTT.
The annual meeting of the parishioners of the above parish was

held at the schoolroom, Lower Hutt, on Monday evening, the chair being taken by the Incumbent (Rev. J. Jones). The report and balance-sheet were read by Mr. Cheesman, and after several of those present had expressed their views, both were adopted as read.
The report presented by the Vestry was a very lengthy one, and was to the effect that a considerable improvement had taken place in the financial condition of the parish, the balauce of liabilities over assets having been reduced by about

£65, only about £50 being required to extinguish all liabilities, and this was expected to be accomplished during the present year. The increased revenue was mainly derived from seat rents and offertories at St. James'' and subscriptions from Petone. The extinction of the debt to the Diocesan Pension Fund, amounting to £27 17s 6d, was due to the efforts of the ladies'' sewing bee. A large sum had also been obtained by means of entertainments. The liability now existing is mainly made up of an overdraft arranged to meet the punctual payment of

assessment and other regular calls. The Taita Church was found to require immediate repair, and the Vestry authorised an effort for its being substantially repaired. Funds to enable this being done were raised by means of a donation from the ladies'' sewing bee, and supplemented by other sources, an old parishioner who was now in England having sent a donation of goods, which had realised £10. Some improvements were desired in the Petone Churchroom, and a fund to enable those to be carried out had been, raised by local special effort. The rights of the parishioners in the churchyards had received attention, and regulations for this purpose had been drawn up, and would come into force when the Taita Cemetery was ready for use. Tho portion of the cemetery allotted to the Church had

been placed under the control of the Vestry. Useful work had been done by the Petone Sub-Vestry, the organisation of collection being very efficient. A misunderstanding of a financial nature had to some extent disturbed the harmony of that part of the parish with the rest, and the settlement of the matter would fall on the incoming Vestry. Regular services had been maintained with the assistance of Messrs. K. Wilson, W. F. Cheesman, J. C. Small. C. P. Powles, H. Gaby, and E. B. Brown as lay readers. A long series of wet Sundays had

affected the attendance and also the offertories in the early part of the year, the services at Christ Church on several occasions being omitted. On acconnt of the difficulty in providing teachers, the morning Sunday school services at St.

James'' had been discontinued. Mrs. Jones continues to superintend the St. James'' school, while the Petone one was supervised by Mr. Jenkins, the infants at the latter being efficiently managed by Mrs. P. Smith. Christ Church school was under the management of Miss A. Welch, Mrs. Rush, and Mr. A. S. Pyke. The voluntary services of Mrs. Rush and Miss Welch as organists at Christ Church, and Mr. Sherwin as choirmaster at Petone, were commended to the grateful acknowledgment of the parishioner. An engagement stipulating that as soon as practicable the assessment should be increased to as to enable a stipend worthy of the parish to be given to the incumbent, it had not been possible to carry out as yet, but as a matter of simple justice the Vestry commended the matter to the consideration of the parishioners, the duty becoming more urgent with the delay. The thanks of the parish were due to the lady collectors for their services, and the attention of the incoming Vestry was invited to the desirableness of further developing this branch of parish work. The Vestry desired to record their sense of the loss which the parish had sustained by the death of Sir W. Fitzherbert, who in the earlier days had taken an active part in parish matters, and as long as his health had permitted had been regular in his attendance at church ordinances.
A vote of thanks was passed to the ladies'' sewing bee for the services rendered by them during the year.
A long discussion ensued as to the necessity for further services at Petone Churchroom, and a resolution was passed that the incoming Vestry take into immediate consideration the urgent necessity of further administration in the Petone subdivision of the parish.
Mr. W. F. Cheesman was re-appointed incumbent''s church warden, and Mr. J. R. Ransom was re-elected parishioners'' churchwarden. The Vestry elected were as follows:— Messrs. W. A. Fitzherbert, A. Collett, J. Wilkins, S. C. Barraud (Lower Hutt); R. C. Kirk and E. J. Jenkins (Petone); S. Death (Taita). Auditors, Messrs. Whitton and Price.
Votes of thanks having been passed to the Sunday school teachers, lady collectors, members of the choirs, and also to the members of the Christ Church Union, the meeting terminated. At a meeting of the Vestry later on, Capt. Humfrey and Messrs. W. A. Fitzherbert and W. F. Cheesman were elected nominators.

Evening Post 17 August 1892
A CONCERT
In aid of the
Furnishing Funds Christ Church,
Will be held in the Sunday Schoolroom,
Taita, on
FRIDAY, the 19th of August,
At 8 o''clock p.m.
Admission, 1s. After the concert a dance will be held in Mr. A. Death''s barn. Admission 1s.

Evening Post 26 November 1892
Funeral Notice
The Friends of Mr. John H. Dowsett are respectfully invited to attend the Funeral of his late Wife, which will leave his residence, Fitzherbert-street, Petone, on Monday, 28th November, 1892, at 2 p.m., for Christ Church, Taita.
COLLETT BROS.,
Undertakers, Petone and Lower Hutt
-
The Officers and Brethren of the Loyal Petone Lodge, 6542, I.O.O.F., M.U., are invited to attend the Funeral of the late wife of Bro. J. H. Dowsett, which will leave his residence, Fitzherbert-street, Petone, on Monday, 28th November, 1892, at 2 p.m.
By order.
K. D. WEBB,
Secretary



Evening Post 19 July 1893
St. James'' Parish, Lower Hutt
The annual meeting of parishioners of St Jamas'', Lower Hutt, was held last evening, the Rev. Joshua Jones (Incumbent) presiding.
The report of the Vestry was read by the Chairman, and was to the effect that the Church''s finances showed considerable improvement. The year began with a deficiency on the ordinary parish account of £60 2s 3d, and a further special liability of £14 17s 11d at Petone. There was now only a liability of £17 10s on the parish account, while the special liability had ceased to exist. The credit for this was chiefly due to the ladies of Sewing Bee, who had supplied during the year £110 1s 2d. The Vestry hoped that in the ensuing year the income from ordinary sources might increase sufficiently to prevent the necessity of absorbing the proceeds of the ladies'' work in ordinary parochial expenditure. The offertories showed some improvement, and the income from seat rents had also increased, but that from subscriptions had somewhat fallen off, and the Vestry suggested that special attention should be paid to the improvement of the subscription list. The ladies of Taita were still devoting the proceeds of their special efforts to the improvement of their church. The attempt to obtain promises for the support of an assistant curate had met with fair success at Lower Hutt and Taita, but no canvass for this object had yet been made at Petone. If the assistance of an additional clergyman could not be obtained, it might be worth while to consider whether or not the Diocesan Synod should be asked to reduce the area of the parish, as it was now so large that no clergyman, of whatever vigour, zeal, or capacity, could meet its needs singlehanded. The balance-sheet, which was read by Mr. H. Jackson, showed that the receipts for the year had amounted to 576 17s 3d, the expenditure being £529 17s 3d, leaving a balance in hand of £47.
The report and balance-sheet were adopted, on the motion of Mr. Cheesman.
A report summarising the work done during tho past year, was read by the Chairman, and adopted.
The following officers were appointed for the ensuing year:— Incumbent''s Churchwarden, Mr. H. Jackson; Parishioners'' Churchwarden, Mr. J. Ransom; Vestrymen, Captain Humfrey, Messrs. Wilkins, W. A. Fitzherbert, A. Collott (Hutt), R. Jenkins and J. G. Castles (Petone), S. Death (Taita); Auditors, Messrs. Whitton and Barraud.
On the motion of Mr. Cheesman, it was resolved that a meeting of parishioners be called at Petone to consider the question of an assistant curate.
Votes of thanks were passed to the ladies of the Sewing Bee, the retiring Vestry and Auditors, the Superintendents and teachers of the Sunday-schools, the organists and the members of the different choirs, and also to the lay-readers, Messrs. Gaby, Gardiner, and Cheesman.
This concluded the ordinary business.
The election of Synodsmen resulted in Messrs. W. A. Fitzherbert and R. Parker being returned.

Evening Post 22 July 1896
The annual meeting of parishioners of St. James''s Parish (Hutt and Taita) was held at Lower Hutt on Monday evening, the Rev. J. Jones presiding. The Churchwardens'' report pointed out that the financial position of the parish called for grave consideration. Forecasting the receipts and expenditure for the ensuing year, the figures show an approximate income of £420; expenditure, including overdraft, £598, thus leaving a deficiency of £178. The thanks of the parish were given to those ladies and gentlemen who by performances raised a fund sufficient to repair and re-paint the parsonage, also to the ladies of St. James''s Sewing Bee, who have contributed largely to the funds during the past year. The report concluded by expressing the hope that some substantial improvement in the finances will be made, otherwise it will be impossible to keep up the present assessment to meet annual requirements. The balance-sheet for the last year showed the receipts to have been £510 10s 9d, which left a debit balance of £97 5s. The election of office-bearers resulted as follows: Clergyman''s Churchwarden, Mr. J. Wilkin; Parishioners'' Churchwarden, Mr. W. A. Fitzherbert; Vestry, Messrs. Balls, Colbeck, Death, Climie, and Cake; Auditors, Messrs. Haybittle and Price; Synodsmen, Messrs. Parker and Price.

Evening Post 20 June 1898
Marriage
Death - Smith - On 15th June, at the English Church, Taita, by the Rev. J. Jones, Lower Hutt, Frank, fourth son of Mr. Death, farmer, Taita, to Annie Langley, youngest daughter of F. G. Smith, Taita

Evening Post 16 March 1899
Christ Church,
Taita
HARVEST THANKSGIVING SERVICE,
Postponed from Sunday, 12th March, to
FRIDAY, 17th MARCH,
At 7.30 p.m.

Evening Post 18 April 1899
The annual meeting of parishioners of St. James'' Church, Lower Hutt, was held last evening. The Rev. J. Jones, who presided, stated in his report that the only important change in the ordinary routine of the church was the celebration of the Holy Communion at morning prayers on the third Sunday of each month. By the help of Mr. W. C. Davies, licensed lay reader, the evening services at Christ Church, Taita, have been regularly maintained. The Melanesian Scholarship had been reluctantly given up, the financial condition of the Parish no longer admit- ting of its continuance. The Sunday Schools showed no change. The Churchwardens reported the financial condition of the Parish to be a subject for congratulation. In addition to paying current expenses, the net liabilities have been reduced by £20, the receipts being £54 more than during the previous financial year. Thanks were due to the ladies and parishioners for help afforded. The balance-sheet shows receipts £403 and the liabilities £186, the assets being £60. The following were elected to various offices for the ensuing year: - Parishioners'' Churchwarden, Dr. Purdy; Vestry, Messrs. Death, Cake, Davis, Knowles, Ball, Jackson, Purser, and Gould; Auditors, Messrs. Barraud and Price.

Evening Post 11 March 1902
A garden party and evening fete will be held at The Oaks, Taita, to-morrow afternoon and evening, in aid of Christ Church, Taita.

Evening Post 12 March 1902
GARDEN PARTY AND EVENING FETE,
at The Oaks, Taita.
Wednesday, 12th March,
3 to 10 p.m.
In aid of Christ Church, Taita.
Admission (including refreshments), One Shilling.
Band in attendance.
Coach to meet 10.15 p.m. train to town

Evening Post 17 October 1908
Fairweather - Simpson - On the 1st October, 1908, at Christ Church, Taita, by the Rev. J. Jones, Hubert Edwin, only son of Mr. R. Fairweather, Silverstream, to Isabel Annie, eldest daughter of Mr. R. Simpson, of Culloden, North Sydney, New South Wales.

Evening Post 4 October 1910
ANGLICAN MISSION.
YESTERDAY''S SERVICES.
...
LOWER HUTT.
Canon Stuart, assisted by Rev. J. Wilkinson, of New Plymouth, is conducting the mission at Lower Hutt, which began on Saturday evening. Yesterday, at 3.30 p.m., a meeting for children was held in St. James''s schoolroom, being conducted by Rev. Wilkinson at 4 p.m., an address on Bible study was delivered in the church, while at 7.15 p.m. a gathering took place in the church for intercessory prayer. After the singing of mission hymns, at eight o''clock the service proper began. This was followed by an after-meeting. This procedure will be observed until Thursday, and the mission will not be resumed until Sunday. On Monday the mission will conclude with a Thanksgiving service.
At Christ Church, Taita, another service will probably be held on Sunday, at 7 p.m.
...

Evening Post 6 March 1913
HUTT RIVER LOAN
...
was held in the Anglican Schoolroom, Taita, last evening.
...

Evening Post 19 June 1918
Marriages
Balls - Buck - On the 12th June, 1918, at Christ Church, Taita, by the Rev. A. L. Hansell, Leonard David Balls, son of Mr. D. Balls, Nai Nai (sic), to Ida Mary Buck, daughter of E. D. S. Buck, Taita

Evening Post 10 August 1923
Crimp - Rayner: Johnson - Rayner - On the 9th August, 1873, at Christ Church, Taita, Hutt Valley, by the Rev. T. Fancourt, Susanah Maria, fifth daughter of John and Helen Rayner, of Taita, to John Stone Crimp, of Kaikoura (now of Napier). Also Harriett Frances, sixth daughter of John and Helen Rayner, of Taita, to Edwin Johnson, of Masterton (now of Seatoun, Wellington). (Double golden wedding).

Hutt News 12 July 1928
Church Services
...
St. James''s Church, 6th Sunday after Trinity - 8 a.m., Holy Communion; 11 a.m, Holy Communion; 2.30, Chridren''s Service; 7 p.m, Evensong. Taita, 7 p.m Evenson; Epuni, 11 a.m, Morning Prayer. Belmont, 11 a.m, Holy Comunion. Waiwetu 7 p.m, Evensong.

Evening Post 5 November 1930
CHURCH JUBILEE
ST. JAMES'', LOWER HUTT
INTERESTING HISTORY
OLD-TIME CHARM
A church building should, by its general atmosphere, impart to the worshippers a feeling of calm restfulness and engender an attitude of mind which relegates material things to a secondary position. St. James'' Anglican Church, Lower Hutt, fulfils that ideal, and follows the best traditions of the parish church of the Old Land. It would be hard to imagine Gray writing his elegy in the churchyard of a modern institutional church - it has indeed no yard at all, only a site generally covered with ugly buildings - but St James'', with its old-world setting, would gladden the heart of the poet.
Set well back from Woburn road, away from the rush of the hurrying motor traffic, embowered in stately trees, above which its spire points heavenward, surrounded by grassy lawns in which are to be seen the hallowed graves of those far-sighted pioneers who chose the site with such wisdom, stands the building which, for fifty years, has been the spiritual home of the members of the Church of England in Lower Hutt.
The jubilee services are to be conducted next Sunday by Canon Watson.
It should be noted, however, that the services commemorate merely the jubilee of the present building. The history of the Church of England in Lower Hutt is really the history of the British community in the district, for the first church came into being over ninety years ago. The exact site of this building, the name of its builder, and the name of the first person to preach the Gospel within its walls, are not on record. The site is now probably under water somewhere near the main bridge over the Hutt River. At this time the Hutt River could be crossed by a pole-jumper, and it is questionable if a bridge existed, for it is probable that the church was an earlier erection than even the quaint "willow pattern" footbridge which spanned the stream at this place. All that is known is that the church stood on the western bank near the site of the inn variously, known as "Burchams," "The Aglionby Arms," and "Valentines." The erection of the building was probably a community effort, as its architecture and its materials were of the simplest, being after the style of a Maori whare and built of raupo. Its first minister was almost certain to have been the Rev. J. F. Churton, who, it is recorded, was in 1840 holding services in his own whare on the Pito-o-one beach. It is on record that a Rev. Mr. Butler was buried in the churchyard of this building, but what, his connection with the church was is not known.
Another name connected with the ministry in this building is that of the Rev. Robert Coles, who had charge of St. Paul''s in Wellington and ministered here on occasions.
In the old register of St. Paul''s may be seen the names of those baptised by the Rev. Mr. Coles in Aglionby-on-the-Hutt - the name by which Lower Hutt was then known. Mr. Coles probably officiated after the departure of Mr. Churton, who stayed in the district for a short time only.
FIRST CHURCH WASHED AWAY.
This first church, with the bodies of those buried in its churchyard, was washed away by one of those tragic floods to which the Hutt River was subject, after it had served the community for a few years. Whether it survived the erection of its successor, which was really the first fully-organised Church of England in Lower Hutt, is not clear, but probably it had disappeared before the erection of the first traffic bridge in 1846-47.
Some of the timber, the whole of the porch, and the windows of the second church are still in service, for the building was dismantled and re-erected in 1880, and now serves as the Sunday School.
The original building was erected by Messrs. J. H. Percy and Son in 1848, the date being fixed by the marriage certificate of Mr. Joseph Percy - the son in the firm of Percy and Son - who was married to Miss Anne Maria Welch in the church on 23rd October, 1848, while the shavings were still on the floor of the building.
Mr. Joseph Percy''s sons still occupy the same property - the old mill site - in Petone, while two other of the five families which then constituted Petone''s population are identified with the church.
Mr. Thomas Riddler claims to have been the first child baptised in this church. He is still living on his father''s property, and is hale and hearty at the age of 82.
The other family is the Collett family, of whom the late Mr. H. Collett and his son, the late Mr. Edward Collett, are both mentioned in the list of church officers.
After Mr. Churton''s departure the services were kept going by lay readers - notably by Mr. R. Davy. In 1848, the Rev. T. B. Hutton was appointed to the parish extending from Pencarrow Heads to Wairarapa. After ten years he was succeeded by the Rev. G. H. Johnstone, who was followed by the Rev. J. F. Herring.
In 1870 the Rev. Thomas Fancourt (afterwards Archdeacon of Wellington) was appointed, and it was during his ministry that the present church was built. The following account of its consecration is from the "Evening Post":-
St. James'' Church.- "This church was consecrated by Bishop Hadfield on Sunday, 21st March, 1880. The weather was most inauspicious for the ceremony, the recent heavy rains having flooded the roads leading to the edifice. In spite of this drawback, a fairly large congregation attended to witness the consecration, which was carried out with the usual formalities. His Lordship was received at the main entrance by the minister and office-bearers, who presented a petition requesting the Bishop to open the church. A procession was then formed and proceeded up the middle aisle, the choir singing the 24th Psalm. On arriving at the Communion table the Bishop delivered an appropriate address, which was followed by prayer and the consecration sentences. The hymn, ''Holy, Holy, Holy,'' was then sung, followed by the usual morning service. The sermon was preached by the Bishop from 1st Corinthians I. 25. The offertories were devoted to the building fund. The new church is an exceedingly pretty and commodious building, and presents a great contrast to the old church, which stands beside it."
This building was erected by Mr. H. T. Beck, of Bridge street, Lower Hutt, who will be present at the jubilee services on Sunday. The contract price was £1400, and was, unfortunately, not a payable proposition. Originally there were four men interested in the contract, but before the work was completed the other three had dropped out and Mr. Beck was left to carry on. The timber, which was almost all totara, was all hand-dressed, and the gothic window frames were cut out of solid timber.
The architect was Mr. Thos. Turnbull, then Wellington''s leading
architect. Tenders were called in "The Evening Post," and it was from this advertisement that Mr. Beck tendered. Mr. Beck recalls that times were exceedingly bad at this period, and owing to competition a very low price was put in. Carpenters'' wages then were 10s and labourers'' 6s per day. Mr. Beck, who is now 77 years of ago, came to New Zealand 55 years ago under special engagement to assist in the erection of the big wooden Government Buildings in Wellington.
The names of the wardens and vestry in 1880 were, as follows: - Mr. W. A. Fitzherbert (vicar''s warden), Mr. J. R. Ransom (parishioners''), Captain Hewitt, Messrs. Cleland, Edward Collett, -. Williams, J. Wilkins, H. S. Fitzherbert, H. Collett, C. E. Barraud, and Captain Johnston. The descendants of many of these are well known, including the present Acting-Prime Minister.
In 1884 Mr. Fancourt, in order to devote more of his energies to the work of diocesan secretary, resigned, and was followed, for a very brief period, by the Rev. E. S. Cross, during whose ministry the present vicarage was built. Mr. Cross was succeeded by the Rev. Joshua Jones, well known to all old Hutt residents. During his term Petone - in 1895 - and later Eastbourne and the Eastern Bays separated from the Hutt church.
GREAT CHANGES.
After twenty-eight years of patient ministry Mr. Jones resigned, and soon afterwards passed to his rest. His successor, the present vicar, the Ven. A. L. Hansell (Archdeacon of Wairarapa), has seen great changes. The district has grown from a purely residential suburb, surrounded by farms, to a town of some 13,000 people. The church has been enlarged, and even now it is too small. A fine schoolroom has been put up and is in constant use. The policy of the vestry has been to take the Church to the people. In 1920 the Church of the Good Shepherd was opened at Epuni, where ground has been purchased for a future vicarage; in 1928 another churchroom (which at the present time is being enlarged) was opened at Waiwetu (sic) and dedicated to St. Paul. At both these new churchrooms, at the Parish Church, at Christ Church, Taita, and at Belmont, regular services are held by the archdeacon, his colleague, and a fine band of lay readers.
Though the present building is in a fair state of repair, it is recognised that its period of useful service is drawing to a close, and a fund has been inaugurated for a new building. Already a generous response has been made, and it is hoped that a very substantial sum will be forthcoming at the thanksgiving services on Sunday

Evening Post 16 August 1933
The Kiwi Scout Group, Taita, commenced activities for the month with a combined church parade of Scouts and Cubs at Christ Church, Taita. There was a full attendance. The Rev. H. _E. K. Fry officiated. The group records its gratitude to Mr. Alan Cameron, of Taita, for useful demonstrations of boxing given at the regular parades during the month. Scout''s D. Braddock,H. Humphries, S. Wiper, and R. Westerby. have been invested with the tenderfoot badge, and Noel Ball''s, and Dick Carter have received their tenderpads. First stars have been awarded to Cubs F. Hewer, T. Hewer, Seymour Hewer, N. Braddock, and Steve Hewer. A special parade was held for the return of Bagheira. An old-time dance to be held on August 16 it is hoped will produce something for the group funds.

Evening Post 26 April 1934
Scout Notes
...
After a period of inactivity, the Taita Scouts and Cubs, under Scoutmaster Little, attended an Anzac Church Parade on Sunday at Christ Church, Taita. The Rev. H. V. C. Reynolds officiated, and the boys were very much impressed with the service. P.L.J. Havard and Senior Sixer E. Fuge placed their respective flags at the altar. This presents yet another side of Scouting, and as the boys shared the honours with members of the Legion of Frontiersmen, they were all very proud to be in uniform.
...

Evening Post 20 October 1934
Farewell and Presentation.
An enjoyable evening was spent in the Taita Hall on Wednesday, when the church members and friends bade farewell to the Rev. H. V. C. Reynolds, who is leaving shortly to take up missionary work in Melanesia. Community singing was led by Mr. Kempthorne and Miss Brooks. Fancy dancing items by K. and V. Colson, N. August, and N. Peck were enjoyed, as also were those given by Mr. House and T. Gadsby. An excellent supper was handed round, and dancing and games were indulged in. Mr. Kempthorne, on behalf of the parishioners, presented Mr. Reynolds with a watch, suitably engraved. Mr. Reynolds thanked those present, and said it had given him great pleasure to minister among the people of Taita. Mr. Fry, introduced Mr. Neild, who was heartily welcomed. The committee added their thanks to all who helped to make the function a success.

Hutt News 24 October 1934
TAITA ANGLICAN CHURCH.
ENJOYABLE SOCIAL.
FAREWELL TO REV. REYNOLDS.
A very enjoyable social organised by the committee of the Anglican Church, Taita, was held last Friday, the occasion being a farewell to the Rev. H. V. C. Reynolds and a welcome to his successor, the Rev. J. R. N. Neild. Community singing was led by Mr. Kempthorne anc Miss Brooks. Exhibitions of fancy dancing were given by N. August, N. Peck, V. and K. Colson. A happy elocutionary item was given by Mr. House, followed by one by T. Gadsby, both being much appreciated. Games and dancing followed, after which a tasty supper was handed around.
During the evening Mr. Kempthorne referred to the excellent services of the Rev. Reynolds in the district, and on behalf of the parishioners presented him with a watch suitably engraved. In returning thanks Mr. Reynolds said he had always enjoyed his ministry amongst them.
Opportunity was taken by the Rev. H. E. K. Fry to introduce Mr. Reynolds successor, the Rev. J. R. Neild, who thanked those present for their warm welcome.
The committee wishes to thank all who helped to make the evening a success.

Hutt News 13 March 1936 page 2
ST. JAMES''S CHURCH.
HARVEST THANKSGIVING
SERVICES.
SUNDAY - MARCH 22.
8 a.m, Holy Communion.
10 a.m, Children''s Service.
11 a.m, Morning Prayer. Preacher Rev. G. V. Kendrick.
7 p.m, Evensong Preacher, Rev. E. C. Long.
Christ Church, Taita.
9.30 a.m, Holy Communion.
Epuni
11 a.m, Morning Prayer.
Waiwhetu
7 p.m, Evensong. Preacher the Vicar.

Evening Post 27 April 1936
ANZAC DAY
...
HUTT ANGLICAN SERVICES
Special Anzac Day services were held in the Anglican churches of Lower Hutt and Taita, both services being conducted by the Rev. H. E. K. Fry, who delivered addresses making reference to the lessons of Anzac. In the morning at St. James''s Church the lessons were read by Major G. L. Taylor and Colonel T. E. Butcher. Among those present were the Mayor of Lower Hutt and Mrs. Andrews and a party from the R.S.A. The church was well filled.
Christ Church (Taita) was packed in the evening for the annual memorial service in connection with the Legion of Frontiersmen. The Waiwhete (sic) Squadron, Which represents members from all over the Hutt Valley and Wainui, was present.
...

Evening Post 8 August 1936
-
includes photo
-
"Let the Church have leave to stand in the Churchyard." - These oft-quoted words are exemplified by the little church at Taita, well known to motorists passing on their way towards the road over the Rimutakas.

Evening Post 10 August 1936
TAITA ANGLICAN CHURCH
(To the Editor.)
Sir,— I would like to point out a mistake in connection with a picture which appeared in your paper during this week. I refer to a portion of the cemetery at the Anglican Church, Main Road, Taita, and the building, under which were printed the words "Let the Church stand in the churchyards." The church is in the churchyard, and was built more than eighty years ago by the late Mr. S. Hirst and his son John. It is the oldest church in the Diocese of Wellington. The other building of the picture is the Sunday School and social hall. The section of land on which it stands was given (many years after the church was built) by the late Mrs. Wm. Welch, of Taita, and built by Mr. H. Meager, about 1886. I am, etc., M. C. RONNING.

Evening Post 9 February 1937
Photo
-
This is a view of the main part of the 1180 acres of land in the Hutt Valley to be taken over by the Government for housing purposes. The Taita Church is on the left, and in the distance is the railway line to Upper Hutt and the Wairarapa and the new Western Hutt Road.

Hutt News 14 April 1937 page 4
St. James''s and its daughter churches were well filled at all services last Sunday on the occasion of the Harvest Thanksgiving. All the churches were beautifully decorated by the various ladies committees and inspiring messages were given by Rev H. S. Kenny, of Petone, and Rev F. A. Tooley, of Berhampore, and the vicar, Rev. H. E. K. Fry. The Boys'' Home has benefited by a large consignment of fruit and vegetables.

Evening Post 29 November 1937
It may not be generally known that the oldest Anglican church in the Wellington Diocese, is the picturesque little Christ Church at Taita, in the Hutt Valley. Among the many parishioners and friends gathered at Taita Hall on Saturday afternoon for the bazaar and fancy dress parade arranged by the church members was a family of children, with their mother and grandmother, the last-mentioned being the daughter of Mrs. J. W. Fox, who was born at Taita in 1842, and remembers the building of this church.
The bazaar on Saturday was opened by Mrs. H. E. K. Fry, who thanked all for their attendance, making special reference to those of other denominations, whose friendly support, she said, she would be glad to reciprocate.
Speeches were also made by Mr. Gordon Giesen, and by Mr. A. S. Kempthorne (superintendent of Christ Church Sunday School), who remarked upon the gratifying attendance each Sunday, despite the scattered nature of the district.
The many, varied, and original costumes in the children''s fancy dress parade were judged by Mrs. Gordon Giesen, who presented prizes to Mildred Claughton (sailorman), Waldo Chamberlain (dragon), Margaret Page (knitting), Alan Page (golliwog), and to the little ones Margaret Hamilton (fairy) and lan Mac Arthur (sailor).
The stalls and stall holders were:— Fancy work, Mesdames Cording, Warder, and Burborough; produce, Mesdames Tustin and G. August, Miss August; ice cream and sweets, Mrs. Pudney; cakes, Mesdames Wright and Maycroft; darts, Len Burborough and T. Fuge; Aunt Sally, D. Maycroft and G. Cooper. Afternoon tea, arranged by Mesdames Balls, Rothnie, Gorrie, MacArthur, and Buck, was served on long tables decorated with brilliant yellow flowers, and was particularly enjoyed by the children.
The committee, who were congratulated on a most successful function, comprised Mesdames Buck, L. D. Balls, Austin, MacArthur, F. Gorrie, Maycroft, Wright, G. August, E. Fuge, and Miss Eileen August.
The Rev. H. E. K. Fry and the Rev. T. F. Fagg rendered great assistance.

Hutt News 1 December 1937 page 5
TAITA CHRISTMAS BAZAAR
On Saturday 27th the Committee of the Anglican Church, Taita, held a Christmas Bazaar in the Taita Public Hall. In the absence of the vicar, Mr. Giesen welcomed the people

Evening Post 28 February 1938
HUTT VALLEY NEWS
DISAPPOINTING WEATHER
(From "The Post''s" Representative.)
What the Americans call "a mean kind of day" in weather prevailed on Saturday in the Hutt Valley, neither wet and cold enough to retire comfortable to the fireside and yet sufficiently damp and unpleasant to cause the postponement of a number of outdoor fixtures. Two garden parties, one the annual garden party of St. James parish church, which was to have taken place in the grounds of "Woburn," Mrs. Vivian Riddiford''s home, and another in aid of Y.M.C.A. funds at "Lansdowne," Mrs. W. J. Mason''s residence in Waterloo Road, were postponed until next Saturday, while the continuation of the drizzle on Sunday interrupted the Lower Hutt Association Football Club''s picnic at Hutt Park.
In accordance with plans made for such a contingency by the committee of St. James garden party a sale of goods was held in the church hall. The vicar, the Rev. H. E. K. Fry, in an informal speech made at the beginning of the afternoon, declared that he knew that his parishioners would not take this as a disappointment; on the contrary they would have two parties instead of one. Mrs. Riddiford had extended her invitation for the following week, and the Mayor, Mr. W. J. Andrews, with Mrs. Andrews, had kindly consented to be present for the opening. He was glad to have the opportunity of welcoming, on behalf of everyone present, the former vicar of the parish, the Ven. Archdeacon Hansell, and Mrs. Hansell, and also the Hon. Walter Nash and Mrs. Nash. He also expressed his pleasure in being able to pay "tribute publicly to the organiser, Mrs. H. E. Leighton, who on this occasion, as in many previous ones, had shown at its best her characteristic good generalship in welding her numerous helpers into one highly efficient unit.
In spite of the bad weather the hall was crowded throughout the afternoon and the stallholders did a brisk business. Those in charge were:— Sweets, Mrs. Bagnall, Mrs. Vogel, Misses Gower and P. Marshall; lavender, Mesdame''s Hobbs, Clayton, Rawson, and Mclntyre, Misses Cameron, Mair, Betty Rawson, Sue Admore; cakes, Mesdames Butt, Hardcastle, Lawless, Morris, Gibbert; garden and flower stall, Mesdames Gordon, Murtagh, Vickery; needlework, Mesdames Holcombe, Mair, Martin, Doran, Judd, Boyd, Middlemiss; cool drinks, Mesdames Glyde and Long; produce, Mrs. Fuge and ladies of Taita, Mrs. Trask and ladies of Waiwhetu, Mrs. Gilbert and ladies of Epuni, Mrs. Alsop and ladies of Belmont; "oddments," Mesdames H. W. Smith, Collins, Clarke, Parkes, Futter, Dickson; children''s market, members of Chilton St.-James''s Old Girls'' Association; ices Mesdames Salt, Foster, and helpers; tea, Mesdames Graham, Strickland, Harrison, Mackissack, Marshall, Harland, Lonsdale, Taylor, Toswill, Baigent, Barker, Oppenheim, Tunley, Judd, Trewern, Jones, Burr, Clark, Stanton, and other helpers.
The pageant of nursery rhymes given by the pupils of the Sunday school will be held at the garden party next week.

Evening Post 28 April 1939
ST. JAMES''S, LOWER HUTT
The vicar, the Rev. H. E. K. Fry, M.A., presided over a well-attended annual meeting of parishioners of St. James''s, Lower Hutt, this week.
After the vicar had read his report, in which he referred to the marked progress which had been made during the past year, the vestry''s report and the treasurer''s statement of accounts were adopted.
The vicar nominated Mr. C. G. Hedge as his warden and Mr. G. L. Giesen was re-elected people''s warden. The following were elected members of the vestry:— Messrs. W. H. Barker, P. Church, N. T. Gillespie, A. G. Jarman, H. A. Innes. J. W. McKissack, D. G. B. Morison, J. A. T. Nash. W. H. Smith, G. A. Williams., parish-treasurer, Mr. E. J. Jones; auditor. Mr. H. B. Gordon.
The annual report of the vestry commented on the value of having the Rev. W. E. W. Hurst and the Rev. M. R. Pirani to assist the vicar, the Rev. H. E. K. Fry, there having been great growth in the number of families in the parish during recent years. Attendance at services, the report says, may be considered good in the light of past years, the weekly average attendance at Holy Communion being 127 as against 122 last year. The choir arrangements have been improved, and the church has been adorned by a beautiful memorial window. With a view to their becoming some time in the future separate parishes, the finances of each of the Daughter Churches have been placed on a new footing, and each now handles its own finances.

Evening Post 9 April 1940
-
includes photo
-
Storm clouds over Taita, a pastoral scene in the Hutt Valley during the weekend. The building is the Taita Church, well known to paasing motorists

Evening Post 21 December 1940
FIRE AT TAITA
CHURCH PROPERTY
HISTORICAL BUILDINGS
The Sunday school building alongside Christ Church, Taita, was destroyed by fire at an early hour this morning. The Lower Hutt Volunteer Fire Brigade received a call about 1 a.m. and was quickly on the scene, but could give no assistance because of the absence of water. Members of the brigade concerned themselves with the safety of the church building, which was not damaged.
The Sunday school building was erected in 1888 on land given by the Welch family. The church, which was built in 1845 on land given by the Hon. A. G. Tollemarche, is one of the most historical buildings in the Hutt Valley, and is generally recognised as the parent Church of England in the valley. The first building used as a place of worship by the Anglican community in the valley was a whare on the west side of the river in Lower Hutt. This was washed away by a flood, and as the bulk of the community lived at Taita, Christ Church was built there. The Taita church was the place of worship for the whole Anglican community in the valley until a church was built in Lower Hutt in 1848.
Christ Church was built of heart of totara pit-sawn timber, and is in a splendid state of preservation. The building which was destroyed by fire was believed by some to be the older of the two on account of its appearance and supporting struts. It was not built, however, until 43 years after the church.

Evening Post 9 June 1941
TOWARDS A NEW HALL
SALE OF WORK AT TAITA
The initial effort towards a fund for building a new Sunday school and social hall to replace the hall of Christ Church, Taita, recently destroyed by fire, took the form of a very successful sale of work which was held at Taita on Saturday afternoon.
A welcome from the parishioners was extended by the vicar, the Rev. H. E. K. Fry, to the Rt. Rev. H. St. Barbe Holland, Bishop of Wellington, who was accompanied by Mrs. Holland. In opening the function, the Bishop commended the energy and determination of the parishioners in straightaway setting to work to raise funds to build a new hall which would be more adequate to meet the future needs of the rapidly increasing community.
The official party included the Ven. Archdeacon and Mrs. Hansell, Mrs. J. W. Andrews, Mayoress of Lower Hutt, Mrs. M. E. J. Wallis, Mrs. Fry, the Rev. M. Pirani, Mr. G. L. Giesen, Mr. A. S. Kempthorne, and Mesdames Cording and Walker representing Stokes Valley.
The stalls were splendidly stocked and were staffed by the efficient members of the working committee who were congratulated on the excellent result of their first effort.

Hutt News 26 November 1941
The parishioners of Christ Church, Taita, are looking forward to the garden party which is to be held in Mr. Greig''s garden, Avalon Crescent, on Saturday, 13th December. The event has been postponed owing to the Plunket Soceity''s garden party being held on the 29th.
-
CHRIST CHURCH, TAITA
The Garden Party arranged for the 29th NOVEMBER at Mrs. Greig''s Garden, Avalon Crecent, is POSTPONED until SATURDAY, 13th December.

Hutt News 10 December 1941
ANGLICAN CHURCH,
TAITA
A GARDEN PARTY
is to be held SATURDAY, 13th DECEMBER, in Mr. Greig''s Grounds, Avalon Crescent. Proceeds for New Sunday School Building Fund. Opening by H. V. WARD, Esq., at 2.30 p.m.

Hutt News 13 January 1943
A brass tablet, in memory of the late George Hooper, is being place in Christ Church, Taita. This will be unveiled and dedicated by the vicar (Canon H. E. K. Fry) next Sunday morning.

Evening Post 2 October 1945
CHURCH CENTENARY
The 100th anniversary of the founding oi the Taita Anglican Church, Lower Hutt, will be commemorated at a special service in the church next Sunday afternoon. The address will be given by the Bishop of Wellington. It is expected that their Excellencies the Governor-General and Lady Newall, the Prime Minister, the Minister of Finance, and Mrs. Nash, and the Mayor and councillors of Lower Hutt will be present.
The church was one of the first built in the Hutt Valley, and was erected five years after the arrival of the first settlers in Wellington. It was constructed of pit-sawn heart of totara, and has required little maintenance. Practically the only work of any magnitude required has been the renewal of the roof.

Hutt News 3 October 1945
Their Excellencies Sir Cyril and Lady Newall and the Prime Minister, Rt. Hon. Peter Fraser, will attend the service in honour of the centenary of Christ Church, Taita, next Sunday afternoon. The offertory will he in aid of the Church Extension Fund.

Evening Post 3 October 1945
CHURCH EXPANSION
NEW PARISHES IN LOWER
HUTT
Tentative plans for the reorganisation of St. James''s Parish, Lower Hutt, to cater for the increase in population in the Hutt Valley during recent years, have been approved by the parish vestry. The plans provide for the reorganisation of the church district into five parishes, each with separate staff and church facilities. The vicar, the Rev. J. C. Davies, said yesterday that the plan would not be effected until it was assured that the financial status of each new district was such that it could support its own church amenities without outside assistance. A new parish would be formed at St. Paul''s, Waiwhetu, the parish church to be erected at the corner of Guthrie Street Extension and Waiwhetu Road. The second parish would embrace the Epuni district, where the construction of a building for Sunday school classes, adjacent to the present Church of The Good Shepherd, would be commenced in the immediate future.
The suburb of Waddington would also constitute a separate parish. The first church building to be erected in this district would be accommodation for Sunday school classes. The fourth parish would comprise the Taita area, and a new church and Sunday school classroom would be erected on a site adjacent to the present church. Another church would be erected at Avalon, and although this would be attached to the Taita Parish, it would eventually become the centre of another district.

Evening Post 5 October 1945
Photos
-
Christ Church, Taita

The Evening Post 5 October 1945
CENTURY OLD
CHRIST CHURCH, TAITA
OLDEST IN DIOCESE
The oldest existing church in the Wellington Diocese, Christ Church, at Taita. Lower Hutt, will officially become 100 years old tomorrow. To commemorate the event, a special service, at which the address will be given by the Bishop of Wellington, will be held in the church in the afternoon.
The building, with its steeply-pitched roof and quaint belfry, is a picturesque old English element in these days of modern architecture. Built of pitsawn heart of totara, the church, which is as sound as when it was first constructed, is a monument to the pioneers who assisted in its erection. The desire of pioneers to erect "a little patch of England" in the new country to which they had travelled is indicated by the two yew trees which flank the entrance to the building. The planting of yew trees was an old English custom, adopted to provide archers with wood for arrows, and has persisted as a traditional practice though the practical reason has disappeared. So well was the building constructed that little maintenance work has been required, and today the church, except for periodical paintings, replacement of rotten piles, and the renewal of the shingle roof with iron, is practically in the same condition as when it was completed 100 years ago. The only additions made to the building are the lining of the walls and the construction of an interior vestry near the entrance. The interior of the building is also practically in its original condition. The original pews, providing accommodation for a congregation of 80, including seats for 16 choristers, are still in service, as are the original carved totara font, the reading desk, and the lectern. The equipment on the altar is also as old as the church itself.
A prayer-book, donated in 1857 by the Society for the Promotion of Christian Knowledge, is still in use, and an altar book, presented to the church in the same year, is still used periodically. As reminders of the days when no other illumination was available, oil lamps are still attached to the walls, but provide a strange contrast to the electric light with which the building is now equipped. Surrounding the church is the traditional graveyard, the gravestones supplying a record of some of the earliest Anglican families in the Valley, though most of the graves dating from before 1860 are unrecognisable as the totara headpieces have rotted away, leaving no identification. To one side of the churchyard is a common grave in which 14 people were buried. They were drowned in a flood which swept the Hutt Valley about a year after the opening of the church. Gravestones in the burial ground show dates ranging from 1864 until the present time. The site for the Taita Church was donated by a wealthy Englishman, the Hon. A. G. Tollemarche, who accompanied the first pioneers to New Zealand and acquired large pastoral investments, chiefly in Hawke''s Bay, where his name is commemorated in Tollemarche Road, Hastings. The construction of the church was completed in 1845 by Mr. John Hirst. In 1888, Mr. Tollemarche''s gift of a church site was equalled by the Welch family, who gave sufficient land adjacent to the church for the erection of a Sunday school room. This building was destroyed by fire several years ago and has not been replaced.
THIRD PARISH CHURCH.
Taita is a section of the large parish of St. James, which embraces practically all the Hutt Valley, Stokes Valley, Belmont, and Wainui-o-mata. The first parish church, a primitive building was erected at Aglionby, to the south of the Hutt bridge, but was swept away in a flood a few years after its completion. Three years later another church was built at Woburn Road. Like the Taita Church, this building was solidly constructed, and today part of it is in use as a Sunday school room. Shortly after the erection of the Woburn Road Church, the construction of the Taita Church was commenced.
For a long period after it was first opened, Christ Church was administered from the diocesan headquarters at Wellington, but later a permanent minister was appointed. During the 100 years it has been in service, the church has been the meeting-place for the Anglicans of Taita at all times, on festive occasions or in times of sorrow. Throughout the war years, services have been held only on alternate Sundays, but it is hoped that with the return of many ministers from overseas regular weekly services may be resumed. It is probable that the church''s long period of service will end within a few years. With the increasing population in the Taita area, the building is not large enough, and the parish vestry has decided to construct a new and larger building, with an attached Sunday school room.
-
Artices have pictures of the Church included


-

Evening Post 8 October 1945
Photo
-
Bishop Hollard, preceded by his chaplain, the Rev. H. C. Arnold, entering Christ Church, Taita, for the centennial service yesterday.
-
TAITA CHURCH
100TH ANNIVERSARY
COMMEMORATION SERVICE
One hundred years ago, pioneers who made their homes at Taita, now a fast-growing suburb of Lower Hutt City, erected a small church for religious services. Today it still stands, despite the ravages and trials of a century. For one hundred years it has been the centre of the community which it serves - a meeting place in times for rejoicing or despair, for thanksgiving or for sorrow.
The building is Christ Church, Taita, the 100th anniversary of which was commemorated at a special service yesterday afternoon. The first centenary celebration of any Anglican church in New Zealand, the service was attended by their Excellencies the Governor-General (Sir Cyril Newall) and Lady Newall, the High Commissioner for Britain in New Zealand, Sir Patrick Duff, and Lady Duff, the Prime Minister (Mr. Fraser), the Leader of the Opposition (Mr. S. G. Holland), the Minister of Finance (Mr. Nash) and Mrs. Nash, Mr. H. E. Combs, M.P. for Wellington Suburbs, the Mayor of Lower Hutt, Mr. J. W. Andrews, and Mrs. Andrews, and councillors. Representing the Maori race were Lady Pomare, Mr. and Mrs. Ra Pomare, and Mrs. Hapi Love.
Only 80 people were accommodated within the building, but a large crowd assembled in the church grounds and heard the service through loudspeakers. The service was conducted by the Vicar, the Rev. J. C. Davies, while the address was given by the Bishop of Wellington, the Rt. Rev. H. St. Barbe Holland. The Governor-General read the second lesson.
"At the time of the consecration of Christ Church, there were already in existence within our diocese the Church of St. Paul in Wellington, a church built in Maori style near Aglionby, on the western bank of the Hutt River, chapels at Karori and Petone, and Christ Church, Wanganui," said the Bishop, referring to the history of the church. "Of this early group of churches, only Christ Church, Taita still stands." The service was an event in the history of New Zealand.
The church was built by pioneers of the Taita district, said the Bishop. By 1843, a small community of settlers had taken up land in the Hutt Valley. The road, which they had constructed, stretched only a mile north of the Taita Gorge. They lived under harsh conditions. Every day they were forced to fight to win a living from the bush-cleared land. At the time of the construction of the church, the settlers in the Taita district formed what was virtually a garrison outpost in hostile country. Under Rangihaeata, the Maoris were then a constant menace to life and property.
FORESHADOWING THE CATHEDRAL.
"It was these few settlers who, living themselves in slab whares, set to work to erect what was to be the noblest building in the settlement, allowing nothing but pit-sawn timber to be used," continued the Bishop. "The building they erected to the glory of God had to be built of better material and on a nobler scale than their own homes, thus foreshadowing the urge that is impelling so many of us today to build in Wellington a cathedral which is nobler than any building that man is erecting to reflect his own honour and glory."
The Bishop stressed the necessity for the construction of additional churches in Lower Hutt, at Waiwhetu, Epuni, Waddington, Avalon, and at Taita.
"The builders of the first Taita church were pioneers in a new farming area, we are pioneers in a new industrial area." he said. "We are no longer at warfare with the Maoris, who are now brothers with us in a new nation, and many of them in our own Church; but we are fighting against cheap and shoddy substitutes for the faith of our fathers, for the same things for which they fought."
After the service, afternoon tea was served in the Taita Hall.

Evening Post 8 October 1945
Personal Items
Viceregal
...
October 7
Their Excellencies the Governor-General and Lady Newall, attended by Major H. A. Jaffray, were present at the centenary service of Christ Church, Taita, this afternoon.
...
Ancestors
   
?
 
 
?
  
  
  
?
 
  
 
  
?
 
 
?
  
  
  
?
 
Family Group Sheet - Child
PARENT (U) ?
Birth
Death
Father?
Mother?
PARENT (U) ?
Birth
Death
Father?
Mother?
CHILDREN
MAA Christ Church Articles
Birth
Death